Thread: Diff question

My Cars
    MK4 jetta(for sale), e36

Diff question

I'm new to BMWs and I just picked up an e36 325is. Looking to start a drift build. From what I understand the 325is (1994) comes with a LSD. My main question was what size diff is it? I have heard its a 3.91 but the previous owner told me it was a 3.23. Not sure if he knows what he was talking about. It is a cold weather package car I believe. (heated power seats)

I ask because I have a chance to pick up an already welded diff for cheap and I just want to be sure that it will fit my car. The already welded diff is a 3.91, he also has a 2.91 that's welded for sale. Is there a difference once they are welded? Is one more durable than the other once welded? Any input is appreciated, Thanks

My Cars
    e36 325ic
    So the size is all the same (for majority of e36 models, 318s have different size diffs), the ratio is what differs. I think your 325 comes with a 3.15 diff, which means that the driveshaft/diff will rotate 3.15 times while the wheels make one complete rotation. 3.91 diff would rotate 3.91 times by the time the wheels rotate one complete time. I would pick up the 3.91 welded diff, most guys on here are running welded 3.91s including myself. Durability depends on the welds so as long as you trust the person who did it then you should be ok, and the difference is once you put in the welded diff the wheels will always rotate the same amount (which is why you hear cars with welded diffs tires "skipping" when theyre making tight turns) so this puts some more stress on the axles but welded diffs will always be "locked" while drifting when an lsd sometimes won't stay locked while drifting

Someone may be able to explain better but I think i hit most of the points lol

My Cars
    MK4 jetta(for sale), e36
    I think that explains it pretty well. Thanks

My Cars
    99 328i, a few more
    http://www.bokchoys.com/differential/GearRatios.htm