Thread: My Dynavin N7 Review

My Cars
    2003 M5

My Dynavin N7 Review

As much as I love the M5, one of my strongest initial complaints was the stock M-Audio system. Frankly, it's absolutely terrible, so I looked into a number of different options. Given my criteria of adding bluetooth phone capability, not deviating too much from the stock look, USB connection for music and initial integration with the stock dsp but with the ability to expand away from dsp in the future, it seemed like the Dynavin N7 unit was the obvious choice.

I did have some hesitation due to my experience with and preference for established car audio names, but Jeff's (J&T Distributing) reputation for support pushed me to take the chance.

Here are my observations and critiques:

Sales and Support:

There's nothing to be said that hasn't been said before regarding Jeff's stellar sales support and ship times. It's as good as their reputation suggests.

Installation:

I have plenty of experience installing custom systems, but overall the install for the N7 would be fairly easy even for a beginner. Outside of figuring out how to disassemble the E39 interior, getting the unit to lock into the mounting bracket was the hardest part (as others have experienced). The plug and play harness options made everything fairly easy, although I did have some issues with some loose connections in one of the adapter harnesses causing some loss in sound.

All in all, it took me about 4 hours of install time, much of which was taken up researching interior disassembly videos on youtube. Installation was more time-consuming than difficult.

Setup and Usage:

While the manual certainly has some language issues, the unit and interface is fairly intuitive to setup and use. I don't have any experience with the N6, but overall the display is crisp with good resolution and little glare, and the menus are easily understood, if a little outdated.

Audio