Thread: Basic drift setup

My Cars
    325i

Basic drift setup

Hello everybody!
    I am from Sydney looking to buy a e36 or e46 (years 95'/00') as a drift project.
    Since i am complete noob with drifting, I am not the sure about the right engine size I need and if I will be able to drift it bare stock or I need some basic setup?
    I tried to search here for a basic setup and couldn't find, links with info of basic setup will be much appreciated.

Cheers!

My Cars
    1995 BMW M3 Coupe
    For a basic drift setup, all you need is:

fixed back seat
    coilovers
    Welded Diff or LSD
    A working E-brake
    Remove rear sway bar (preference)

Additional:
    Steering wheel
    Angle kit
    Power adders/engine swap
    Cage

If you are a complete noob, do the basic mods, then get out and drive. Don't build a crazy car that you will not be able to control. Mod as needed, seat time and experience is key. Plus, once you start building a powerful car, cost per event goes through the roof.

My Cars
    1985 535i
    This^^^ and as far as engine goes, you can't really go wrong with any of the six cylinder engines. Although a 328 e36 or 328/330 e46 will give you a bit more power to start off with. If you happen to pick up an e46, catless headers and a tune will net you a reasonable gain in horsepower. Also note, if you're looking for just a tad more angle as a beginner rack spacers can be purchased for about $10 and are very easy to install.

My Cars
    '07 335I 6MT, '01 330i
    I started on my '01 330 with stock blown suspension, and a welded diff. Truly all you need to start is a welded diff and a clutch that holds the power.

My Cars
    325i
    Thank you very much for the responses!

what would be better to start with e36 or e46? what minimum engine size?
    and assuming engine was well serviced, how much preferable mileage on the engine? (lets assume e36 is 95' and e46 is 00').

thanks!

My Cars
    2 E30s and a maxima