Thread: Another new guy, another diagnostic question

My Cars
    1997 740il, 167k $1000

Another new guy, another diagnostic question

Hi everyone, been reading up, found symptoms of my problem elsewhere but not all together, so figured I'd start a new thread. Up until a few years ago, I was a diesel mechanic, specializing in engine swaps, putting fuel efficient little diesels in classic 4x4's mostly. I was "the guy" for tricky diagnostic stuff, too. Then I got multiple sclerosis and have some serious brain fog from that, so these forums/YouTube have been great for helping me do diagnostics that I used to take for granted. So thanks in advance, it allows me to wrench a little still, even if only on my own stuff. On to the problem

I have a 1997 or 1998 BMW 740il

Picked it up yesterday cheap, cause it "lacked power" sometimes according to the previous owner.

I can drive it around, no noises, if I go over a bump, it will sometimes flick a code 0740. If I start from a stop on a hill, it will sometimes throw a gear 2 incorrect ratio, and gear 5 incorrect ratio

never had it throw just 2 or 5, always both, despite pulling over one scanning immediately after it does it, so before it would touch 5th gear?

When it does any of these, from a driver's perspective, there is no noise, not even increased trans "wrrrr" volume, let alone "whine" or screeching. It acts like an old Chevy three speed, where the kick down cable is not adjusted quite right, and you are trying to accelerate up a hill, not enough power...then down shifts and zoom! Again, with no bad noises.

Goes highway speed fine, up to 70mph on rolling hills, with no rpm "hunting" indicating an obvious converter slipping.