Thread: Steps to assessing engine damage

My Cars
    98 E36 M3 Vert,82 E21 iS

Steps to assessing engine damage

I made a post yesterday on how I messed up my engine when I drove it as it was leaking coolant without realizing the car was overheating.

I added fresh coolant but the car overheats once its on for five minutes and there seems to be some water mixed with the oil when I check the dipstick. Someone mentioned that the damage is likely to be worst than just replacing the head gasket but I may have to resurface the head and it may be cracked as well.

I'm a novice so please bear with me.

1. Can someone explain the steps for me to assess the extent of the engine damage?

2. Would I be able to remove the head without taking the entire engine out of the car?

Thanks

My Cars
    1978 BMW E21 316
    Probably the gasket is just a bit burnt so the air from inside goes in the cooling system, do you see the level raise/bubbles if revving? (I mean inside expansion tank/with cap removed if no expansion tank)
    It's possible to change the head gasket with the block inside and still with clutch and everything on, did mine this way.
    "Averroës, Kant, Socrates, Newton, Voltaire, could any of them have believed it possible that in the twentieth century the scourge of cities, the poisoner of lungs, the mass murderer and idol of millions would be a metal receptacle on wheels, and that people would actually prefer being crushed to death inside it during frantic weekend exoduses instead of staying, safe and sound, at home?"

My Cars
    98 E36 M3 Vert,82 E21 iS
    I don't think my car has a coolant expansion tank (at least it doesn't seem obvious to me).

Are you saying I should take the radiator cap off and rev the engine to see if the coolant level rises in the radiator? What would that indicate? Thanks.

My Cars
    1978 BMW E21 316