Thread: Charging AC system that is severely undercharged and only cools under active RPM's

My Cars
    '88 535is & '99 540iT6

Charging AC system that is severely undercharged and only cools under active RPM's

I'm sure somewhere deep in a thread this has been answered but I cannot find it.

I realize the E39 AC systems are interesting and perhaps I'm overcomplicating this. I have a lot of experience in handling AC systems from my E28 days but I digress. Issue is that the AC only works when I'm driving (and not too well at that). I've diagnosed it as a low system because everything seems to be working as it should (clutch, secondary fan, sensors) and I'd like to charge it to see if that does what I believe it should. Only issue is....at idle the compressor isn't kicking in. Or at least the pressure isn't changing from static. Not until I get in and rev to around 1600 (540I) at which point the high and low start looking a little more normal.

Anyway - can I simply open the can into the non-running system as many other car owners do? I'd really prefer not 'jump' the compressor but I also want to do this the correct way. Ready to hear any thoughts on the best way to do this.
    '88 535is & '99 540iT6

My Cars
    E12, E12, E36, E39
    I believe on E39s there is a low side switch, which prevents operation if the system is too low on either pressure or charge. I'd figure out which one and jumper it for testing. Be sure, you don't want to jumper the high side and risk blowing things up. That would account for the symptoms. On the other hand, you should be able to hear and see the compressor kick in, grab someone to help if you need. I don't have an explanation for why it starts working at higher RPM unless perhaps there is a compressor problem.