Thread: 1989 E24 Dual A/C rebuild log

My Cars
    1989 635csi

1989 E24 Dual A/C rebuild log

I have officially finished my A/C rebuild after starting 7 months ago. I received most of my info and tips from this forum so I figured I would pay it forward and write out my rebuild log to help the ones who come after me.

Car:
    1989 635Csi with Front and Rear A/C
    195k Miles

Background:
    I am a Mechanical Engineer with a specialty in thermal dynamics but I have no previous work experience on HVAC repair.

Original A/C had a sticker on it saying it was retrofitted to R134a back in 1994 but the compressor wasn't changed and the low and high side hookups were still for R12. The car spent its life in California and I bought and shipped it to Houston, Tx. The A/C worked successfully for my first year of ownership. Eventually, the front A/C started blowing warm while the rear AC would still blow cold, then eventually both stopped blowing cold.

I took it to my local shop (ABR Houston) and they said it was empty of refrigerant and had a leak. They couldn't determine if it was R12 or R134a. They quoted me $3k to find and repair the leak, retrofit to r134a, replace both TXVs (thermostatic expansion valves), and replace the leaky component. I declined and decided to tackle the job myself. This proved to be the correct path as the A/C needed a complete overhaul that would of cost over $5k to have a shop do.

My goal was to find the leak and convert to an efficient R134a system in the process. This would include a new aftermarket compressor, parallel flow condenser, new fan, and a new drier, at the minimum.

Tear Down

Engine Bay: