Thread: Purchasing My First Used BMW-- Advice and Which 3 Series?

My Cars
    none

Purchasing My First Used BMW-- Advice and Which 3 Series?

Hello people of Bimmerforums,

First off I wanna say I am a huge noob when it comes to this stuff, as this is my first time buying a BMW. Second, I wanna say thank you in advance because after reading countless posts on here for the last month, the community seems great and I'm sure I'll get a lot of great help!

Now, my situation isn't totally unique. I am 20 years old and I'm looking for a new car because my current 2006 Ford Taurus is garbage and I want something fun to drive, and BMWs have always looked awesome to me. I know that maintenance and care comes with buying a BMW and the parts are not cheap and there are some questions on their reliability but when it comes down to it, I've been saving and saving and I've known for awhile I want a new car, and I think BMW is the fit for me. I have some very very basic and general knowledge when it comes to working on cars, like simply changing the oil, installing a radio (helped with it), and I had to help my dad redo the brakes on my Taurus. I'm not afraid or against working on a car, and my dad knows a lot about cars and he has a lift and a bunch of tools, so I think maintenance will be possible on my own with his help. I just wanted to get your guys opinion on which 3 series I should look for and which model (325i, 328i, 330i, etc.) I should look for in each generation and which I should avoid. Here is what I am essentially looking for and some basic info about the search:

• My budget is at a max of $10,000, although I'd like to come under this number just so I can have some extra cash for future maintenance. So, 4000-10,000 range