Thread: Brake recommendations

My Cars
    '05 X5 4.4i & '08 X3 3.0

Question Brake recommendations

I'm relatively new to European cars, but I recently acquired 2 BMW's, and E53 and an E83. My E83 is coming up on a major service (level 2 in 2500 mi) and I can see that the brakes will need to be serviced. Being a former Honda guy, I am familiar with the quality Japanese parts manufacturers, but I am clueless when it comes to German parts manufacturers. I don't want to blow a lot on OEM parts when I know there must be other European parts manufacturers that make parts of equal or better quality than BMW at more competitive prices. I sure would appreciate some recommendations of sources for a brake kit at least equal to the OEM stuff. Can anybody name some European parts houses that have a reputation for quality at a reasonable price?

AceEngineer

The wife's DD___2005 X5 4.4i
    My DD:________2008 X3 30.si

My Cars
    2005 BMW X3
    Akebono Brake Pads or Bosch Brake Pads

rockauto carries them, specialized sites include ecstuning and bavarian auto sport, but I find the part numbers and usually buy from amazon or ebay.

My Cars
    1993 850ci 2001 M5 / Z3M
    I just ordered Pagid pads and Bosch rotors for the e83, I have run this setup with several vehicles that are daily drivers, factory-like braking. For aggressive setups I recommend using EBC Green or Red pads.
    Regards,

Brian
    Cave Creek, AZ

My Cars
    E83 LCI 3.0si
    I can't tell you what to buy, but I will gladly tell you what to stay away from. Do NOT buy Hawk Pads. Not unless you want to apply wd-40 to your brake discs every few days because it sounds like nails on a chalkboard. I don't care how well they stop and how little brake dust emanates, this is the absolute definition of first world problems.

My Cars
    Audi A6
    Quote Originally Posted by e83onstick View Post