Thread: 1997 328is Bleeding Coolant Without Heat

My Cars
    1997 328IS

1997 328is Bleeding Coolant Without Heat

I had my 97 328is with 92k Miles delivered off of Craigslist and I’m running into an overheating issue as I try to bleed the coolant. The car ran alright before replacing the radiator which was damaged from a collision. The heat or ac were not working before replacing the rad. When I try to bleed the coolant with the new radiator the coolant begins to smoke and the engine over heats with the cap open causing the need to kill the engine. Do I need to diagnose the heating issue first in order to properly disperse the heat while bleeding? Is it mandatory to have the heat on for this? I’d like to get the car running again before diagnosing the heater control valve or heater core or whatever else might be the problem. This is my first time doing any real engine repair so thanks for the help!

My Cars
    96 318ti
    it shouldn't take that long to bleed the system as it is a closed loop system. Are you bleeding the system with the bleeder screw? If the heater isn't working then it might be the case that you don't have enough coolant circulating your system. Assuming that you're bleeding the system correctly, you might have a blown headgasket if bubbles are coming out non-stop.

I would check the oil for coolant before proceeding.

If all is well, then I would pull the thermostat and see if the car can run without overheating issues.
    DIY 96Z3 (M44): Drive Belts, Starter, H2O Pump
    DIY 00ZM (S52): Gauges: clock, battery, oil

My Cars
    E36, E70, i3
    Are you bleeding it correctly? Put the front on ramps and fill the system cold as completely as you can. Then start it and keep topping it up as the coolant level drops. Turn heater on full (fan can be on low if though).

My Cars
    22 doors and 4 tops