Thread: Documenting 100% Rod Bearing Replacement **3 Video Episodes**

My Cars
    e30

Documenting 100% Rod Bearing Replacement **3 Video Episodes**

Hey guys. I used to post here when I had my E30 when I was like, 17, haha. Now back here and there when I get a chance to post about my E90 project I picked up while back. I've been waiting so long to make this thread, it's so rad to finally type this.

I was SUPER lost about why in all my comment sections people were freaking out about the fact that I haven't done my "rod bearings" yet... So I go on YouTube and search over and over... I found a few decent videos, but nothing that REALLY shows and explains WHY these cars have this issue, why 2011's are aluminum over copper in 2008... why you do this, why you do that, etc.

I teamed up with SSR Performance in Orange County to have them to my rod bearing service. I know the owner, Shah, can jump in and help with any questions because I'm VERY new to the engines in these cars.

I have been talking to VFEngineering about doing their super charger, but they said they didn't recommend it before I had done the rod bearing service. So now that it's complete, it's time for a SC very soon on top of a few other things. ANYWAYS.

Here's the three videos. The first video shows the car being taken apart, talking about the shop, basic stuff, showing and explaining what we're doing.

The second video shows the results of the rod bearings and then putting the new ones in.

The third video is the podcast/interview with the shop owner and the main tech there who understands everything from what I can see. They explain the details of why/what/who/where rod bearings.

I hope that THIS helps ANYBODY who wants SUPER detailed stuff about rod bearings. This is why I did this, to help anybody who needed literally every detail with a good camera, good format and just executed all together.

Enjoy!