Thread: Driveshaft Vibrations: Help Please

My Cars
    1999 328i

Driveshaft Vibrations: Help Please

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to the BMW world (I've owned my 99 328i for 6 months or so). I'm fairly competent with a wrench though. I've completed a VANOS rebuild and subframe reinforcement. Anyway, I've been having driveshaft vibrations. Even after replacing the CSB, Guibo, center clamp coupler thing, and the bushing that the transmission output shaft goes into, as well as verifying that the driveshaft is aligned, it has a vibration.

Symptoms: Drives lovely smooth including at speed. But, vibrated under high torque loads. Especially bad if I brake and step on the gas at the same time. The lower the gear the worse it is. It's a pretty aggressive vibration and I don't want to replace my CSB, ect again in 5K.....

The U joints don't seem to have an abnormal amount of play. Is there a measurement for this? This is a slight thud when getting on / off the gas but it's pretty small. there's also a fair amount of play in the diff (270K on the chassis) that is likely the cause of this. One U joint (the rear one if I remember correctly) feels slightly stiff while the middle U joint is looser.

I'd really appreciate any help. I really don't want to spend a bunch of money on these parts again....

Thanks in advance,
    -Brendan

My Cars
    2004 325XI/2008 GL320
    The common point of U-Joint failure is the one closest to the differential. Any X/Y or rotational play is bad.

Also if you didn't use OEM parts, a vibration can and more than likely will be felt.

My Cars
    1999 328i
    Cool. I'll check for X-Y play

My Cars
    E46 wag. E36 convertible