Thread: Bleeding clutch system. Am I even making progress?

My Cars
    1987 BMW 325e

Bleeding clutch system. Am I even making progress?

I recently replaced both master and slave clutch cylinders, the only thing left for me to do is to bleed the system. I have no prior experience doing this and the information I've seen online is unclear about the correct method. Finally, I opted to try it this way.

Before trying I noticed that when I depressed the clutch pedal, it would not return. After trying to bleed the system, the pedal does return to the original position (it still feels very spongy, like there is not enough pressure pushing back against my foot. It won't let me go into first gear.) Is this a signal that I'm doing things correctly and need to continue trying the same procedure?

Anyone with experience bleeding the clutch (preferrably on an E30 or similar BMW) with advice about the best way to do it? I'm tempted to also try this next.

My Cars
    1987 325iS...edan
    If you bench bled the slave cylinder, the rest of the system is self-bleeding. Slowly pumping the pedal should be able to remove the rest of the air.
    Interested in vintage cars? Ever thought about racing one?
    Info, photos, videos, and more can be found at www.michaelsvintageracing.com!

Elva Courier build thread here!

My Cars
    Imola E36 M3 E30 Touring
    Unless you bench bled the slave, or have a pressure bleeder, you're going to have to pump for hours.

My Cars
    No e30s, again :(
    and than you will have one Arnold schwartzenhanrnspdojfggar leg and one chicken leg
    No e30s again.

My Cars
    e24e30e36e39e90
    You can also loosen the nuts and pump the slave in situ with you hand, this equates bench bleeding. Pushes the air up and out of the system, the way it wants to go.

My Cars
    1987 BMW 325e
    Thanks for your responses. Sounds like bench bleeding is the way to go. Just to make sure, by bench bleeding you mean the procedure followed in this video, correct?