Thread: Climate Control Fans Fluctuating

My Cars
    2002 325xi

Climate Control Fans Fluctuating

Hello all,

I am brand spanking new to the world of BMW, as I have recently purchased myself a fully loaded 2002 BMW 325xi from a private party. I knew going into it, it would need some TLC since it had ~203,000 miles on it.

Aside from interior upholstery needing to be tidied up (some of it's hanging loose or small bits of it are missing) and cleaned, I noticed the climate control fans fluctuate at all levels of power, from maximum heat to maximum A/C cold. To put it more simply, the fans are constantly going up and down in speed as if they aren't getting a steady stream of electricity going to them for some reason. I'd like to know if anyone is familiar with this problem, and how they fixed it. If no one is, I'd like to know what the best steps are to take at diagnosing the issue. Please note: I am not a professional mechanic, but I do a lot of mechanical work myself as much as possible as problems show themselves.

For those who want a short history of what I did to the car shortly after purchasing it...
    1) Transmission fluid change (Castrol Transmax Dexron VI)
    2) Front differential fluid change (Valvoline 75W-90)
    3) Oil change (Mobile 1 High Mileage Synthetic 5W-30)
    4) New lifetime warranty water pump (? Duralast ?)
    -> Car has Prestone 50/50 Coolant already in it, so I replaced what came out with that
    5) New brake pads on all 4 wheels
    6) New front brake rotors

Things still to get done
    1) Rear differential fluid change
    2) Swap out these stupid-ass coil-over stiff-as-fuck slammed-to-the-ground shocks (trade for OEM shocks with someone? )
    3) New tires
    4) Fix upholstery (somehow)
    5) Fix fan fluctuation issue mentioned above