Thread: Modules behind glove box question

My Cars
    1996 328I

Modules behind glove box question

So I'm starting to thin out the wiring harness of my 96 328i. I'm stuck at the modules behind the glove box..

Now for a drift car which ones should I keep or can I just cut them all out but keep the one for the lights?
    Ive read about the ews2 and chipping it and what not but do I have to spend the $300 just to delete it or can I just cut it out and go from there?

I'm very new to the wiring aspect of things so I dont really know what I'm talking about, some help and Knowledge would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk

My Cars
    none
    Id look at the Track car section those are always ripping wires out of their car lol

IG: dimitriantoniou

My Cars
    1995 BMW M3 Coupe
    IIRC one is the EWS, and one is the Wiper module.

if you are going to thin our the wiring completely, it is easier to get a fuse box, make a relay panel, and start from scratch. You can get down to about 6-8 circuits.

I started to do this by thinning out the harness, then ended up making my own (twice).

My Cars
    1996 328I
    Quote Originally Posted by blake261 View Post
    IIRC one is the EWS, and one is the Wiper module.

if you are going to thin our the wiring completely, it is easier to get a fuse box, make a relay panel, and start from scratch. You can get down to about 6-8 circuits.

I started to do this by thinning out the harness, then ended up making my own (twice).
    So you're saying if I use a different fuse box (for just the essentials) I could get rid of the ews2 and all the other junk I won't need like abs/asc and stuff like that?

I'm just trying to get it thinned out to what I need. Eventually an engine swap and a stand alone with that

My Cars
    1995 BMW M3 Coupe
    That's what I did, but my car is bare bones. No Key, no EWS, no power anything. just lights, binkers, wipers, IGN, Starter, and fan.