RM European Auto Parts

Thread: new to me x3

My Cars
    09 x3

new to me x3

hi, I just bought this 09 x3 that had some hurricane damage. I am a vastly experienced mechanic ( retired ) and have worked on and had bmw in the past but nothing modern . this car has only 21,000 miles on it and only some broken glass. car runs and drives as new. while I am trying to source a workshop manual , I have a couple of quick questions....please...

1) the little light that indicates the car is in park is lit all the time even when the car is off and key out of ignition... is this normal ?

2) " 4x4 " light is on but owners manual is a bit confusing in this regard.... can that be that the DCS switch on the dash is " off" or " on" or does that indicate some genuine issue ? haven't had the car in the air yet to see if the FWD is actually engaged.

3) air bag warning light is on and overhead light says " passenger air bag off " . is that key controlled somewhere ?

4) " brake" light is on but fluid level correct and car stop perfectly. haven't had the wheels off yet to look at the pads... do they have a sensor that trip that light if the pads are thin ?

and yes... the car really is 10 years old with only 21 k on it... it got bought new in the US and shipped to a vacation home in the Caribbean where it got driven about 1 month a year every year.

thx

steven

My Cars
    E39M5, E500 4WD
    Oh my.

Step one is to connect the car to ISTA, Autologic, or another BMW specific top-of-the-line diagnostic computer, and find out what the ~70+ computers know.

There is no workshop manual per se.

1) The shifter light should stay on for ~17 minutes, and then go off. If it doesn't go off, the car isn't going to sleep.

2) If the 4x4 light is on, then at least one of the computers in the car is seriously pissed off. You need to talk with all the computers, using a BMW specific diag computer.