Thread: An '84 325e with no spark :/

My Cars
    1984 BMW 325e

An '84 325e with no spark :/

Hi gang. First E30, first post, first time dealing with no spark.

I'm a complete amateur with these cars so please bear with me. I've been scouring the internet for information on finding the culprit to the issue. The car has been running like a dream for the past week. And this morning it won't start.

The car turns over properly, but the plugs won't fire. The reading on the positive post 15 at the ignition coil (brand new) is in the millivolts with the key in the on position and when the engine is turning over.

I've tested all relays, they checkout. Have yet to pull the cps, which I understand is a variant of the common cps on the non e models.

I'm really scratching my head here (and on the verge of tears ). I need this car to run by monday and it seems the chance of that happening is slim.

If there is anyone out there... SOS!

My Cars
    1984 BMW 325e
    Figured it out. Fusible link on the secondary positive lead from the battery was fried. Replaced with an inline fuse holder. Good to go!

My Cars
    1984 BMW 325e
    Well I’m back... the inline 50amp AUG fuse I installed to replace the fusible link won’t stop blowing. To the point that it will just pop right when I put the fuse in, without starting the car. The engine ground is fine, and added a new battery ground strap as the old weave like strap had begun to tear at the battery terminal connector.

The only thing I’ve changed since owning the car was the stereo. The only precieved issue with the car is a hum coming from the fuel pump as if it’s about to give out (sounds like chickens hooting almost ha)

If it’s the radio does that mean it has a bad ground?