Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: "The shark"-E21-Overheating issue

My Cars
    '81 E21,'14 F30,'17 F87

"The shark"-E21-Overheating issue

Hey guys,

I am looking for some help on an overheating issue I am dealing with with my 1981 E21 320i manual.
    I am fairly new to working on this engine so sorry for some obvious things that I am asking about.

This is the sequence of events and what I have done so far:

1-Was driving to work which is 20 min ride and I noticed that my temperature gauge was right in the middle. Usually it is a little below the middle which is what I am used to.
    2-Same day, the car would start, idle for 4 seconds than shut off. The weather was bad so I got it towed home to diagnose.
    3-Checked for vacuum leaks, and tightened everything around. I looked at the muffler and it turned out it was broken or probably blocking the passage.
    4-Took the muffler out and the car started. It was loud but it was running.
    5-I had also ordered a thermostat and decided to change it while waiting for the muffler to come in from Ansa.
    6-Changed the thermostat (after i boiled it and checked that it is opening), flushed the radiator with the hose, changed all hoses, lifted car about 1 foot from the front, to bleed the system from air, added coolant as needed. placed the cap, with heat and fan on high. Hot air was coming in the cabin. Car ran for 15 minutes. Temperature was a bit below the half. I turned the heat on cold, ran for 10 minutes and temperature stayed below half.
    7-Received muffler and installed. (3 center pipe bolts were a nightmare to take off lol)
    9-Took car for a test ride: 10 minutes of driving between 30 mph and 60 mph and car was overheating. I had to stop multiple times to prevent the temperature to go above 3/4.

What I have done after that:
    1-Checked and cleaned ground connection near battery behind the left head light
    2-Checked fan clutch but it is not broken