Thread: Chrome shadow shadow chrome darkness?

My Cars
    01 M Roadster

Chrome shadow shadow chrome darkness?

Hi folks,

i posted recently about refinishing wheels in the 01/02 shadow chrome finish. As a 2 year owner of my M roadster, I am no expert at proper finish color. I've read that some original wheels were lighter or darker but don't know if this correlates with z3 or later. I also don't know if anyone has a way of really quantifying the shade. I know from photography that there are an almost infinite variety of greys.

How do people take a picture of the different finishes in such a way as to show the differences? Does anyone have a name or code # for a powder coat color that is a good match to original? Rite Way in Walnut Creek CA calls the lightest finish Hyper silver, with 2other darker choices. I don't know the names. My car is oxford green, which is dark, so dark wheels might be too much. But I still want something other than what I have, old polished Al.

thanks for your comments, John

My Cars
    z3
    Hyper silver would be the 98-00 color, strictly subjectively speaking - chrome shadow is usually a shade somewhere between what most shops call hyper silver and gunmetal

Going into my TENTH YEAR of providing high quality reproduction BMW fabrics!

PRICE CUT on ALL FABRICS
    Offering the best prices on the best quality reproduction fabrics!

My Cars
    2002 M Coupe
    Back when I had Precision Wheel Works do my rear rims they said that there wasn't a "standard" definition for Shadow Chrome, and I had to provide one of my front rims for them to match. This made sense, as over the years I have seen a number of these wheels where the factory finish was notably lighter or darker than mine. I'll probably do the same when I contact Rite Way about doing my front rims; since I have 3 fronts and 3 rears, I have a refinished rear rim that hasn't had a tire mounted on it to use as a comparison.

Marty

My Cars
    01 M Roadster