Thread: Guibo Advice?

My Cars
    2012 750Li XDrive MSport

Guibo Advice?

Hello All! I just bought a 2012 750Li XDrive MSport and have a slight vibration which leads me to believe the guibo is needing replaced. I had the car on the lift and saw some little cracks around the front one, rear looked fine, not sure the condition of the carrier bearing. I want to tackle this job my self and want to make sure I buy everything I need before I start. What do you recommend? Should I get both flex discs, carrier bearing and new bolts or what? I'd like to do this once and be done with it...

My Cars
    The guibo is the last thing I would be thinking of replacing for a vibration. Tires and wheels would be absolutely first. In 12 years of being a BMW dealer tech, I have never replaced a guibo for a vibration.
    ASE and BMW Master Certified Technician

My Cars
    2001 525it
    Second no on guibo, start with wheels, bent? and tire balance, do you feel it through out the car or in the steering wheel

My Cars
    2012 750Li XDrive MSport
    Quote Originally Posted by jclausen View Post
    Second no on guibo, start with wheels, bent? and tire balance, do you feel it through out the car or in the steering wheel
    I feel it more thru the car than I do thru the wheel. It's a very small vibration but it bugs me because I know BMW rides better!

My Cars
    You've either got a bent wheel, tires out of balance, or a tire(s) out of round (can be measured by a shop with a RoadForce balancer).

My Cars
    2012 750Li XDrive MSport
    I will go get it checked out on Saturday and see what's up. Thank you guys!

My Cars
    2012 750Li XDrive MSport
    Well had the tires checked out, were out of balance a little, got them squared away but my vibration is still there. I can feel it mainly when leaving a stop light and up to about 50mph, almost goes away the faster I go. Driveshaft related? Torque converter? Transmission? Any ideas what to check next?

My Cars