Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Torque converter is bad, Options?

My Cars
    2007 Alpina B7

Torque converter is bad, Options?

happened yesterday I hit the gas and the RPMs went high and bang into gear...Happened again same scenario down the street. Drove to work and back and tends to do it only when I get aggressive on gas pedal. If I drive steady and normal shifts perfectly ALTHOUGH I no longer have SPORT mode? Im no expert so I think its just the TC and not my Gear box.
    What do you guys think??
    options:
    1)New TC and rebuilt tranny $2800
    2)TC and soft rebuild(valve body) $1900
    3) buy a used sport tranny for $600(144k miles) slap it in?
    4)part out
    2000 740i Sport

My Cars
    2015 328i M Sport
    Rebuild the torque converter. If it shifts fine no reason to waste money on a full rebuild. I'm getting mine rebuilt next week. Throws a P0740 torque code.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

My Cars
    99 840ci Sport Indv
    That sounds more like a failing clutch pack in the gearbox than a torque converter failure - a torque converter failure is usually permanent rather than getting better again. Didn't you see a TRANS FAIL-SAFE PROG message?
    Timm..2007 E64 650i Individual Sport..1999 E31 840ci Individual Sport..ex owner of 2000 E38 740..1999 E38 740i V8 M62..1998 E38 735i V8..1993 E32 730i V8..1988 E28 518i

My BMW Repair YouTube Channel
    My Current 840ci Sport Individual
    My Current 650ci Sport Individual
    My E31 Repair and Information Website
    My E38 Repair and Information Website
    My E63/E64 Repair and Information Website

Chase - Heroes to a generation

My Cars
    2007 Alpina B7
    Quote Originally Posted by M I C H A E L View Post
    Rebuild the torque converter. If it shifts fine no reason to waste money on a full rebuild. I'm getting mine rebuilt next week. Throws a P0740 torque code.

I agree

Quote Originally Posted by Timm View Post