Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help with R1200GS setting using tools32

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    India
    Posts
    4
    My Cars
    R1200GS

    Help with R1200GS setting using tools32

    BMW R1200GS LC bike, hardware setup ICOM A/D working with ISTA-D/P , EDIABAS, Tool32 working , not able to connect with ESys.

    I need to set the fuel size of the R1200GS to 30 litres( have made the conversion from GS to GSA). To make this changes have studied the X_KOMBI50.PRG functions and have understood the required changes(mentioned in details in the steps). The problem I am facing is at step 3 : DIAGNOSE_MODE, not able to set X_KOMBI50 in coding or programming mode , if I run this function via Tools32 I get ERROR_MODE and not able to set the ECU for coding mode, request you to please help me set the ECU in programming mode. This is for K001 chasis for BMW motorrad, I have the ISTA-D/P logs as well as lots of logs of these functions via Tools32

    Below are the step that I believe would help, provided I am able to set the ECU in programming mode

    Step 1: Load the PRG - X_KOMB50.PRG (Open PRG file from Open menu)
    Step 1.1 Read the current Fuel status_lesen
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","status_lesen","ARGTANKANZEIGE_1 _MR","")
    Result : Save that to be referenced and checked against the changes
    Step 2: Read the current DIAGNOSE_MODE (Read Active diagnostic session)
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","DIAG_SESSION_LESEN","","")
    result : DIAG_SESSION_WERT (1 byte),
    DIAG_SESSION_TEXT (string),
    DIAG_DETAIL_WERT (Int),
    DIAG_DETAIL_TEXT (string)
    JOB_STATUS : OKAY (if error free)
    Step 3: Set the ECU in Coding Mode
    Argument out of DiagMode table
    TBEG "DIAGMODE"
    "NR", "MODE", "MODE_TEXT"
    "0x00", "UNGUELTIG", "DefaultMode"
    "0x01", "DEFAULT", "DefaultMode"
    "0x02", "ECUPM", "ECUProgrammingMode"
    "0x03", "ECUEXTDIAG", "ECUExtendedDiagnosticSession"
    "0x04", "ECUSSDS", "ECUSafetySystemDiagnosticSession"
    "0x40", "ECUEOL", "ECUEndOfSession"
    "0x41", "ECUCODE", "ECUCodingSession"
    "0x42", "ECUSWT", "ECUSwtSession"
    "0x43", "ECUHDD", "ECUHDDDownloadSession"
    "0x4F", "ECUDEVELOP", "ECUDevelopmentSession"
    "0xXY", "--", "unbekannter Diagnose-Mode"
    TEND
    ARG: MODE
    ARGTYPE:string
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","DIAGNOSE_MODE","ARG;MODE;ECUCOD E","")
    The result of this function is ERROR_MODE and not able to proceed any further, any help to get the ECU in Programming/Coding session.

    Step 4: ? If nothing else the MODE is set and no SECURITY ERROR , proceed Next with MODE CHECK
    Step 4.1: Read the current DIAGNOSE_MODE (Read Active diagnostic session, this should be in ECU Coding MODE and ready)
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","DIAG_SESSION_LESEN","","")
    result : DIAG_SESSION_WERT (1 byte),
    DIAG_SESSION_TEXT (string),
    DIAG_DETAIL_WERT (Int),
    DIAG_DETAIL_TEXT (string)
    JOB_STATUS : OKAY (if error free)

    Step 5: Run the Job STEUERN_IO for setting the TANK Size( first with STA)
    ARG:STEUERPARAMETER
    ARGTYPE:string
    ARGCOMMENT:'RCTECU' = returnControlToECU
    ARGCOMMENT:'RTD' = resetToDefault
    ARGCOMMENT:'FCS' = freezeCurrentState
    ARGCOMMENT:'STA' = shortTermAdjustment
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","steuern_io","ARG;TANKANZEIGE_1_ MR;STA;3","")
    Main function to set the tank size, when I execute this it gives me an error of "ERROR_ECU_SERVICE_NOT_SUPPORTED_IN_ACTIVE_SES SION" as the ECU is in Default mode and flash operation is not active.


    Step 6: Read the Tank data for the change in calculation
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","status_lesen","ARGTANKANZEIGE_1 _MR","")
    RESULT : if it has worked the result need to show tank fuel as 10 litres and also increase in the FUEL BAR on KOMBI
    Step 6.1 : If failure, end of story for day!
    Step 7: Run the Job STEUERN_IO for setting the TANK Size( with FCS to make this permanent)
    ARG:STEUERPARAMETER
    ARGTYPE:string
    ARGCOMMENT:'RCTECU' = returnControlToECU
    ARGCOMMENT:'RTD' = resetToDefault
    ARGCOMMENT:'FCS' = freezeCurrentState
    ARGCOMMENT:'STA' = shortTermAdjustment
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","steuern_io","ARG;TANKANZEIGE_1_ MR;FCS;3","")
    Step 7.1 : Result should be positive and you are DONE!


    Step 8: Set the ECU in Default Mode
    Argument out of DiagMode table
    TBEG "DIAGMODE"
    "NR", "MODE", "MODE_TEXT"
    "0x00", "UNGUELTIG", "DefaultMode"
    "0x01", "DEFAULT", "DefaultMode"
    "0x02", "ECUPM", "ECUProgrammingMode"
    "0x03", "ECUEXTDIAG", "ECUExtendedDiagnosticSession"
    "0x04", "ECUSSDS", "ECUSafetySystemDiagnosticSession"
    "0x40", "ECUEOL", "ECUEndOfSession"
    "0x41", "ECUCODE", "ECUCodingSession"
    "0x42", "ECUSWT", "ECUSwtSession"
    "0x43", "ECUHDD", "ECUHDDDownloadSession"
    "0x4F", "ECUDEVELOP", "ECUDevelopmentSession"
    "0xXY", "--", "unbekannter Diagnose-Mode"
    TEND
    ARG: MODE
    ARGTYPE:string
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","DIAGNOSE_MODE","ARG;MODE; DEFAULT","")
    Step 9 : Read the current DIAGNOSE_MODE (Read Active diagnostic session, this should be in Default mode with applicable changes)
    apiJob("X_KOMB50","DIAG_SESSION_LESEN","","")
    result : DIAG_SESSION_WERT (1 byte),
    DIAG_SESSION_TEXT (string),
    DIAG_DETAIL_WERT (Int),
    DIAG_DETAIL_TEXT (string)
    JOB_STATUS : OKAY (if error free)

    -Pramod

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,280
    My Cars
    E70 3.0sd E21 323i
    Pramod,

    I apologise for not responding to your message earlier, but I am currently undergoing treatment for very aggressive cancer and was hospitalised. BMW motorcycles are unfortunately beyond my area of expertise, however you may find the information contained on page 26 of the Supplementary riders manual useful in gaining access to programming mode. http://mon.garage.free.fr/bmw1150gsa..._R_1150_GS.pdf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    India
    Posts
    4
    My Cars
    R1200GS

    Solved: Fuel tank capacity and KOMBI display in sync

    I was able to configure the KOMBI and BCO to reflect the new fuel tank capacity with right fuel range, reserve fuel.

    This configuration was done with ESys and ICOM A on R1200GS( made it a GSA with replace the Tank from 20 ltrs to 30 ltrs). Enable the FA option Hill Hold control too via ESys and ISTA P ( programming ABS module).

    Let me know if any R1200GS (Motorcycle) owner are interested in knowing more.

    -Pramod

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    India
    Posts
    4
    My Cars
    R1200GS
    sorry to hear about your health, hoping you are responding well to the treatment. I was able to do all the research and made it happen. It need to be coded in the CAN gateway (X_BCO) for tank capacity and fuel level sensing as well as in KOMBI for right range and fuel capacity display.

    Thanks for responding and take care.

    -Pramod
    Quote Originally Posted by David Mc View Post
    Pramod,

    I apologise for not responding to your message earlier, but I am currently undergoing treatment for very aggressive cancer and was hospitalised. BMW motorcycles are unfortunately beyond my area of expertise, however you may find the information contained on page 26 of the Supplementary riders manual useful in gaining access to programming mode. http://mon.garage.free.fr/bmw1150gsa..._R_1150_GS.pdf

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    CZ
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    R1200GS LC
    Hi pramods,

    please can you help me with my R1200GS LC 2015?? Need to retrofit DWA. Hardware is done. Need modify VO(FA) in E-Sys. Have E-Sys already, did some tuning of my X3 F25 earlier. But no idea how to connect and modify VO with the bike. Can you help please?
    Thanks, Tony

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    India
    Posts
    4
    My Cars
    R1200GS
    sorry for replying this late, I am hoping you were able to get this working if not, not much different than the car, connect the E-Sys and select the K001 and ICOM/ethernet option, is setting make it for motorcycle. As you have E-Sys working for cars, you must have the right token already. A snapshot to help.


    connection.PNG

    Hope this helps
    -Pramod

Similar Threads

  1. Help with purchase of used 3-Series
    By H2Racing in forum General BMW and Automotive Discussion sponsored by Intercity Lines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-18-2006, 06:59 PM
  2. Need help with buying a used 5 series Please.
    By bmwgna in forum 2004-2010 (E60,E61)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-15-2006, 12:12 AM
  3. Help with Gain Setting using DMM - Resistance
    By Pani in forum Car Audio & Electronics sponsored by Bavsound
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-29-2005, 01:54 PM
  4. need some help with suspension settings
    By timsev in forum Track, Auto-X & Drag Racing sponsored by Bimmerparts.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 01:10 AM
  5. Need help with (or a used replacement) driveshaft balancing!
    By bmwman91 in forum 1983 - 1991 (E30)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2005, 02:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •