Thread: Amp and Subwoofer Install

My Cars
    1997 BMW 840ci

Amp and Subwoofer Install

Hi Guys,

Just picked up a mint 840ci and now its time to have a little fun.

Looking to pop in a couple subs behind the rear seats and amp to serve them.
    Literally thinking of cutting holes behind each seat and placing the subs directly in.
    I drive with the rear seats down any ways so no problem.

I have never done it before, but I got time so no problem there.

Anyone done this before in the 840ci? Any lessons learned before I start digging?

Thanks for the help and have a great day!

Cheers,

My Cars
    e31 e28 e53 e92
    ive done it before in an e28 but a single sub with dual coils, and i installed it behind the middle arm rest instead of behind each seat. granted i was 15 when i did it so it was a long time ago. it was a "free air" sub so it used the trunk as the enclosure. these types of subs do not hit as hard as their "sealed" or "ported" enclosure cousins but it was an Advent 12" and it sounded nice, tastefull and not to boomy.

all that said, i would N O T do it again. fast fwd decades later - i still have that original e28 but now it has a huge hole behind the armrest and although you cant see it i know its there. i suggest you buy a prefab sub enclosure and put it in the trunk this way when you or the next owner want to remove it (and someone at somepoint deffinately will) your not left with an abomination rear seat with 2 gigantic holes in it.

My Cars
    1997 BMW 840ci
    I will be starting from scratch on thsi project and relly appreciate your input and the standard box design vs messing with my resale value!
    That being said, IDK crap about amps/subs/etc.
    Do you know of any forum thread that delves into:
    -good sub/amp packages
    -wiring/install guide

Thanks again 6speeder and have a good one

My Cars
    e31 e28 e53 e92