Thread: air bag deployment

My Cars
    2001 3.0 Z3 1996 Lexus

air bag deployment

Grandsons just bought a 2006 325xi that had an accident. It was a deer hit at low speed but the driver air bag deployed. I scanned it and came up with the following codes:
    93b2
    93b4
    93b6
    93a8
    93d4
    93a9
    From what I can gather, the air bag needs to be replaced along with the driver side tensioner and a rear passenger tensioner. Does the whole tensioner need to be replaced or only a portion? After I replace said parts, will I be able to reset the codes or is this a dealer only reset? The car drives good, and I am willing to put some effort to fix it. Any help would be appreciated as I have never worked on an air bag system before.

My Cars
    2009 335i M-Sport Coupe
    Quote Originally Posted by jaaa View Post
    Grandsons just bought a 2006 325xi that had an accident. It was a deer hit at low speed but the driver air bag deployed. I scanned it and came up with the following codes:
    93b2
    93b4
    93b6
    93a8
    93d4
    93a9
    From what I can gather, the air bag needs to be replaced along with the driver side tensioner and a rear passenger tensioner. Does the whole tensioner need to be replaced or only a portion? After I replace said parts, will I be able to reset the codes or is this a dealer only reset? The car drives good, and I am willing to put some effort to fix it. Any help would be appreciated as I have never worked on an air bag system before.
    Ok, looks like you need a Battery Safety Terminal, Driver's airbag (1st and 2nd stage), Driver's pretensioner, right rear pretensioner. The 93D4 code specifies that a crash telegram is stored. The whole tensioner needs to be replaced, it's the whole buckle assembly. All the bags and tensioners can probably be had pretty cheap off ebay.