Thread: New(to me) '84 325e, and I have questions.

My Cars
    1984 BMW 325e

New(to me) '84 325e, and I have questions.

Hey Everyone, I'll definitely admit I am new to the world of motoring and certainly new to the world of E30's. This car is my first purchase and while it does have its issues I'm still happy with it and excited for the future with this car. With that said, lets get down to the issues.

So, I was aware of it when I purchased the car but it has a starting issue. Usually the car will start right up every time but sometimes, especially when I am in a hurry, the car will crank and crank and crank but wont fire up. However, if you push start the car it will start up just fine(a skill I am still acquiring.) I ordered a new ignition switch per advice of our usual mechanic.

Now, when I do start the car the RPMs will jump up to 2K and then go back down to 1K. Not sure what that is about, any advice appreciated.

Also, sometimes I'll be driving and sometimes when I start the car the RPM's will lower down to 500 to 800 and the car will want to die unless I floor it and watch all the black smoke come out the tail pipe. Go out on a limb and guess that that is a fuel issue, but I'm looking for advice before i start throwing money at the car.

I've added some pictures, my dad and I were working on the car. Looking at hoses to replace and opened that up to find fuel in those lines that go to that plastic T and then into the intake manifold. Wondering if there is supposed to be fuel in those lines?

Those are the main 4 issues I'd like to take care of now. After that I'll worry about not having AC in regularly over 100 degree weather lol.

richardodn is offline Old Guy BMW CCA Member
    My Cars
    20 440ix cab, 12 X3 35ix
    Idle issues - try cleaning the internals of the idle control valve (ICV). They can get sticky causing odd issues. It's the cylinder shaped thing with the 2 wire connection in the first picture.