Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: E46 - Is it possible to code 5 Blinks on One Touch Indicators Function

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact

    E46 - Is it possible to code 5 Blinks on One Touch Indicators Function

    Hi all,

    I have a new LCM with software version v4.5 and the One Touch Indicators is working perfectly. However, it only flashes 3 times but I would really wish it could flash 5 or 6 times.

    I fired up NCS Expert and extracted the details of the LSZ module. However, when I use NCS Dummy, it only presents two options - "einmal" (one time) or "dreimal" (three times). Does this mean that it's impossible to set this module to 5 blinks ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    8,260
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    You have to make a custom daten file (which one are you using? .C37? ), which replaces the 03 (dreimal) to a 05 or 06. But don't change the name "dreimal", just the number.

    or Nettodata coding, if possible.
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 07-01-2017 at 07:05 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,252
    My Cars
    2005 M3 & 2004 330i
    You can also add new parameters with NCS Dummy and name them whatever you want. Maximum supported value is 7

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact
    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    You have to make a custom daten file (which one are you using? .C37? ), which replaces the 03 (dreimal) to a 05 or 06. But don't change the name "dreimal", just the number. or Nettodata coding, if possible.
    I cannot delete the old dreimal nor can I edit the value. And since I cannot delete it, I cannot add another with the same name

    Quote Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
    You can also add new parameters with NCS Dummy and name them whatever you want. Maximum supported value is 7
    As 328 Power 04 said, it seems that I must add the value against the word dreimal since I think the program doesn't understand any other words.



    Any ideas as to what to do next ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    8,260
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    You missed the point.


    You need to edit the daten file itself for custom coding options not regularly available, not the text based interpretation of simple coding.

    This means you have to disassemble your daten file (this is the reason why I asked you which daten file version you were choosing, that was an important question), make your custom option available.. then assemble the daten file back. THEN you code the module.


    Or google "nettodat coding".


    Both ways are a bit above level complexity, when compared to the usual coding of predetermined options.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, what terra said is new to me, but actually a very nice feature, that I never knew about. You can actually create new options, with your own naming.
    Right click in the area of your options and see the "Add Parameter" button. Add your parameter, then go to "Update Module" to save the custom daten file.
    This will give you the option to update the daten file with new custom data easier.
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 07-02-2017 at 07:00 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    8,260
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Also, make sure you are using NCSDummy correctly by actually loading your .trc file... instead of only using NCSDummy as a reference.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact
    Thank you so much guys. I've now got 6 blinks working and added the choice of 5 or 6 to the existing 1 or 3 blinks. So by adding parameters, I then updated the module, all using NCS Dummy. Part of my problem was not editing the Expertprofile and enabling the writing using the MAN file. So I think I kept writing back by read out TRC file.

    For the benefit of others, it was indeed the .C37 custom daten file. You simply fire up NCS Dummy, select the Module LSZ.C37 and left the Trace file Blank. I then found CYCL_TI_BLK and added two new parameters called five value 05 and six value 06 and then clicked Module Functions > Update Module. It's then a case of existing and running NCS Dummy again with importing the TRC file this time, selecting the value five or six and writing the MAN file before then re-coding the car with NCS Expert.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,069
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Also make sure to check the mask size the parameter is in. If it says 00..01 for most on/off functions, only 2 possible parameters can be there.

    If the mask is 00..FF (it's hexadecimal), than you can have 255 parameters max.

    I've played around with the E36 window-drop parameter for coupe/cabrio which sets the amount of drop. You can even have the window open fully, for example.

    Handy for when the drop doesn't clear the rubber seal properly anymore.
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    Is this feature also available to E53 X5? I only want 3 times flashing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    8,260
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Quote Originally Posted by Volum View Post
    Is this feature also available to E53 X5? I only want 3 times flashing.
    Yes, but it really depends on module version
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    What is the option called?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact
    Quote Originally Posted by Volum View Post
    What is the option called?
    CYCL_TI_BLK

    Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    What module?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact
    Lsz

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    15,069
    My Cars
    German E36 328i & M3 cab
    Quote Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
    You can also add new parameters with NCS Dummy and name them whatever you want. Maximum supported value is 7
    Interesting. I thought the mask size, in this case "00..07" meant a maximum of 7 parameters. Never realized it was the maximum allowed value.

    Does make sense.
    '98 BMW M3 3.2 SMG Cabrio • Alpinweiß III auf Schwarz • Deutschland-ausführung

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    618
    My Cars
    BMW 330CI DropTop
    Quote Originally Posted by MParallel View Post
    I've played around with the E36 window-drop parameter for coupe/cabrio which sets the amount of drop. You can even have the window open fully, for example.

    Handy for when the drop doesn't clear the rubber seal properly anymore.
    Interesting,

    This is something I was looking for, do you know which parameter need to be change to drop the window a little more for the E46 convertible?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    Quote Originally Posted by championc View Post
    Lsz
    You mean LCM?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    8,260
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Lichtschalterzentrum ?
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    Yes I know what LSZ means, but I have only LCM to pick, not LSZ.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact
    Strange, almost everyone else will confirm that they only see LSZ and no sign of LCM.

    Use whichever of the two you see

    Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    When using LCM, there's no "CYCL_TI_BLK"

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    63
    My Cars
    2000 316i Compact
    I have no idea as to what you are doing but i think you are the only person seeing a module called LCM.

    So sorry, i cannot help you.

    You have an E46? You are using NCS Expert and the NCS Dummy ?

    Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    I was talking about E53.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    8,260
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Depends on hardware/software revision of the module.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    117
    My Cars
    1998 BMW 730d
    Seems like it isn't possible. To my e53 at least.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to fit 24s on my 93 740i?
    By Bstevens12 in forum 1988 - 1994 (E32)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-10-2013, 11:42 AM
  2. Is it possible to rollback miles on an e36
    By iwannadinanm3 in forum 1991 - 1999 (E36)
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 05-02-2011, 07:05 PM
  3. Is it possible to install vanos on a non vanos transmission
    By jmore1231 in forum 1991 - 1999 (E36)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 09:33 AM
  4. Is it possible to change direction on Steptronic??
    By helvetica in forum 1996 - 2003 (E39)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 07:19 PM
  5. Is it possible to have E46 door handles on my E36?
    By Andre325i in forum 1991 - 1999 (E36)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2001, 03:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •