eBMWParts

Thread: Noob - E39 with bi-polar handling

My Cars
    2003 530iA

Noob - E39 with bi-polar handling

Good day. I have been driving a 2003 530i for about 18 months and have noticed a very peculiar and troubling situation. In most cases, the handling is just superb - minimal body roll, well-managed impacts from expansion joints, etc. - exactly why I wanted a BMW in the first place. Then, everyone now and again, and without any overt action on my part, the suspension reverts to 1992-era Cadillac Brougham handling - the body just bobs as though the shocks are completely blown, expansion joints send a shudder through the entire car, and pothole impacts seem like a wheel is about to simply fly off the car. Then, after surviving the ride home and parking the car for a while - 30 minutes, an hour, overnight - the suspension returns to typical BMW excellence on the next drive. Sometimes the handling even improves during the same ride. Again, I am not making any adjustments in the car or flipping the automatic over into the Sport programming - it just starts to happen, leaving me both sad and nervous as hell.

I am mystified by this bi-polar (perhaps schizophrenic is a better adjective, but I don't want to get involved in a psychoanalysis debate here) behavior. As far as I can find, BMW didn't start installing adaptive suspension for several years after my E39 was built. Has anyone else experienced this phenomenon? Any suggestions about how to diagnose what may be at fault without sending the car (and about $8,000) to my local BMW shop?

My Cars
    03 zhp, 97 e36m3, 04 zhp
    Sounds like it just needs new shocks. I would also check to make sure you don't have any broken springs.

My Cars
    2003 530iA
    Shocks are certainly a possibility. But why would the handling go from "fine" to "spooky"? I would think shocks would behave more consistently - if they're worn and tired, I would think the car should handle poorly all the time, not one drive in 10 or 12.