Thread: Front wheel violent shaking when braking on speed bumps.

My Cars
    E39 2004 520i

Front wheel violent shaking when braking on speed bumps.

Hello, it is my first time posting a thread here.

I bought a second handed BWM 520, about 46,000 miles so far.
    It was owned by a very gentle old man,
    and used this car for short distances only. Thus the condition was close to perfection.
    Before I bought it, he made sure to check everything at the official BMW service center and everything was fine.

However, recently while I was going down hill into a underground parking lot,
    I was going over some short but rough speed bumps, the front wheels were shaking like crazy.
    It felt like it was going to fall off. The vibration was very very intense.

Once I released the breaks, the vibration was gone and i proceeded with the braking since I was still heading down.

I have went to long distances with this car, and I have had no issues in normal situations.
    Even in high speeds, the brake was smooth and firm. But in low speeds and going over speed bumps, this shaking thing seems to occur time to time.

I have seen other threads discussing about the ABS kicking in, and saying that is is a normal response, but I wanted to get some more advice
    from people who had similar experience.

It would be wonderful to get some advice.

Thanks.

My Cars
    2003 546it m-sport
    Tie rods. I think.

My Cars
    2001 525it
    Front thrust rod bushings

My Cars
    2001 e39 530d touring
    I've got the same problem plus a bit of shaking when braking around 60mph. What am I supposed to change?
    http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=31_0617

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

My Cars
    2001 750iL DD74441
    Quote Originally Posted by Plattus1000 View Post
    Tie rods. I think.
    Quote Originally Posted by jclausen View Post
    Front thrust rod bushings
    And from my experience I was going to lean towards pads/rotors and pins.