Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP E36 keeps stalling and smell gas

My Cars
    1995 BMW E36 318ci

HELP E36 keeps stalling and smell gas

Hey guys i am new to bimmerforums and was looking for some help. I recently bought this beautiful e36 about 3 months ago after my new car was totaled because some idiot ran the red light.

Yesterday while i was on my way to my cousins house i went to put gas and the idiot gas attendant put from E to about 3/4's worth of 87. Soon after i rev a bit and mess around and my car starts bogging and turns off. I start it up and its bogs and shuts off. So i pressed the gas just so i can get out of the area i am in and it stayed running but when i release the gas it slowly bogs then shuts off. i was able to hold the gas down a tiny bit while pressing the brakes so i can make it home. i need your guys help idk what this can be. is it the gas? also the check engine light comes on when the car starts bogging but when i give it gas it goes away. Currently once you turn it on it runs for a few secs then turns off but again if you press the gas it stays running rough and when you let it idle it turns off.

any ideas?

My Cars
    z3
    Maybe fuel filter or something. Your car should be able to run on 87. What check engine light code are you getting?

My Cars
    11/88 E32 750iL+98 E36M3
    You had a completely empty tank? Check the pre-filter in front of the fuel pump and check the fuel pump if it still delivers enough volume and pressure.
    Shogun tricks and tips for the E32 series are HERE!

My Cars
    1997 328i
    You really don't want to run your tank down to E, it's bad for the fuel pump, try to fill before you get that low.

If the car was running fine before, then just fill it up the rest of the tank with premium. Always go to a gas station that has tons of customers buying gas, going for the cheapest station or one with few customers is usually not a good idea.