Thread: Cylinder 5 Misfire in 2010 328i ---need suggestion for replacing it myself

My Cars
    2010 328i

Cylinder 5 Misfire in 2010 328i ---need suggestion for replacing it myself

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here needing a little help...my 328i has been shaking a little in 1st gear or in P over the past few months, losing power during acceleration, making me panic. I didn't take it in because I lost my job and simply couldn't. However, the other week the Service Engine Soon light came on, then it went off, and then came back on, etc etc. Long story short, I took it to the mechanic finally and they diagnosed that there is a cylinder 5 misfire and quoted me $80 for the ignition coil and then $175 for labor. I am in a position where I need to replace it myself in order to save the money and drive the car safely. I haven't replaced any coils before, but have seen how to do it. I found this coil online and I want to make sure I am ordering the correct coil ---- http://www.oembimmerparts.com/BMW-3-...7594937e9x.htm If this is not the correct kind, does anyone know which one I need to order?
    it mentions that all coils should be the same brand, and all of mine are OEM--is Bosch what BMW uses?
    When I replace the coil, do I also need to replace the spark plug underneath, or is that optional? I'm assuming that it's probably necessary and that I should also order a spark plug.

Thanks for humoring my newbie questions

My Cars
    E91 Manual Wagon

Cylinder 5 Misfire in 2010 328i ---need suggestion for replacing it myself

Go ahead and do all 6 coils and plugs. If one is failing, the others are likely to follow.

Follow this tutorial, you can do all 6 plugs and coils for about what you are being quoted for labor alone
    http://www.pelicanparts.com/BMW/tech...eplacement.htm
    Here is a good socket
    GearWrench 80546 5/8-Inch x 6-Inch Swivel Spark Plug Socket https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0014ZVSVK..._NKmozbBT4KZV2

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk