Thread: 1995 325i e36 Transmission Replacement

My Cars
    1995 BMW E36 325i

1995 325i e36 Transmission Replacement

My 1995 e36 325i 2nd gear has started popping. I read another thread that said that this is a common problem for the Getrag transmission. I also have read that people have been replacing theirs with a ZF transmission because those are known to be more reliable. I am a car noob, but I am trying to learn. I just wanted to know if anybody knew a ZF transmission that would fit in the car as I couldn't find another thread that mentioned one for my car. I'm also not very good with these forums yet, so I'm sorry if there is a another thread on this subject. Thank you!

My Cars
    1998 BMW 328i
    It will fit but you need a few more parts to make the swap work. A different driveshaft i believe.

My Cars
    98 BMW 323is - 2.8T
    My understanding is that the zf out of the m3 (zf226?) Bolts up fine, the only issue being the driveshaft tab and possibly length.

I thought about doing the zf swap when my trans blew, but based on price and ease of the swap, ended up just throwing another getrag in the car.

Not sure if I'm 100% accurate though, so I wouldn't take my word for it.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

My Cars
    1997 328i
    So here is a search of the E36 sub forum with the terms 'getrag zf'

https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...archid=5480150

My Cars
    2004 330 vert 2004 X5
    ZF will swap in perfectly. I did that swap to my 95 325 coupe many years ago. You need the tranny, drive shaft and shifter linkage and a ZF flex disk. Actually you only need the front half of the drive shaft but it's rare to find just the front half. It's normally sold as one unit.