Thread: M3 Brakes......

My Cars
    03 M3 00 740i 98 528i

M3 Brakes......

So I'm getting into the brakes on my new toy here ('03 M3) and it appears to me, that it has comp package brakes (cross drilled steel rotors with aluminum hats) but the car isn't equipped (as far as I can tell) with the comp package.

Is it just different pads and rotors for that or is it different calipers as well.

I'm an M3 newb as well as a 3 series all together newb....so I'm sorry if this may seem like a dumb question. New all around to this :/
    2000 740i - 149K - Dville Monsoon rear deck speaker upgrade, GROM audio Bluetooth
    1998 528i - 204K - GROM audio Bluetooth setup, Drilled/Slotted Rotors, BSW Stage One speaker kit, Facelift Xenon's with Angel Eyes
    2003 M3 - 210K - BMW Euro Cross Drilled Rotors

dworthy is offline Wagon meister :) BMW Tech Expert
    My Cars
    16 220i 05 325it 05 M3
    Both use the same pad, so no worries. If you don't know how old the anti-rattle spring clip is, typically 48 months is the length of service for that item.

The rotors will be different diameter, and the calipers carriers as well to fit the larger rotors. The calipers themselves are the same between the CSL and stock M-3.

The only way to be sure is to measure the rotors themselves as ECS Tuning sell cross drill rotors with aluminum hats that look like the CSL/competition package ones.
    Darin
    Current:
    16 220i Active Tourer Platinsilver MET (C08)/Dakota Black (PDSW), P7ACA, P7LDA, P7LHA, P9BDA, 6sp Manual - Wife's new toy!
    05 325it Electric Red(438)/Gray(N6TT) ZCW, ZSP 5sp Manual Back set cover, trunk mat, Euro Infra-Rot front windshield, and mud flaps! Mr. Wagon My new Winter car.
    05 M3 Imolarot II(405)/Gray(N5TT) ZCW, ZPP 6sp Manual C.F. Lip, CSL diffuser, SSK, Euro Infra-Rot front windshield and a trunk liner! Mr. Go_Fast Stored for the Winter
    Past:
    95 318is Montreal Blue Met (297)/Beige(K1SN) RIP, killed by an Idiot.