Thread: My high mileage e90

My Cars
    2001 325ci, 2007 328xi

My high mileage e90

Please forgive me, I've been reading post here for sometime but it's my first time asking a question. I have 2 BMW's a 2001 325ci and a 2007 328xi. The 325 for my kids and I drive the 328. My 328 has nearly 250,000 mostly highway miles (125 mi commute to Washington DC every other day for 15 years). I really like this car and it's been good to me but I'm concerned about putting money into the car. I don't want to throw good money after bad. I drove my 1988 528e for about 220,000 before selling it and it was running great at that time. Does anyone have a high mileage success story? Should I just minimize what I spend i.e NO UPGRADES? Just replacement parts for the next 2 years or do you think I could upgrade suspension, brakes, exhaust, etc and drive for well over 400,000 miles? Also I'm not able to find many people upgrading this car, I suppose because it's and all-wheel-drive sedan, but it has enough highway pep to get me in trouble (I have the points on my license to prove it) What about an engine rebuild? Will the all-wheel-drive system fail on me? Again I really like the car and it's probably worth more to me driving it, I can't imagine I'd even get a decent downpayment on another used one with the mileage that I have. Honestly I could probably pick up a 2008 or 9 335i for less than 12,000.00 with regular folks miles on it!!! Has anyone been through this exercise? Much appreciated

My Cars
    EXOTICS
    No forgiveness needed, and welcome.
    You seem to have a lot of prior experience with BMWs,
    and a decent amount of mileage with them, with no complaints,
    so I'm going to assume you know how to upkeep them, and have done so.
    From my point of view, it would appear the maintenance schedules you seemed to have followed,
    work really well, so I wouldn't be too concerned about your ability to reach the upper limits of mileage,