Thread: New owner of a 2004 BMW X3 3.0

My Cars
    2004 BMW x3 3.0

New owner of a 2004 BMW X3 3.0

Hello All, I'm a engineer in his late twenties who grew up in a city with good public transport and never needed or owned a car before. Recently, I got a new job that requires driving and asked a family member experienced in all things car to go around and kick some tires and find a good car. We found a BMW X3 2004 3.0 150k miles that looked like it was well maintained. It was clean, had no dents. When looking up the vin we saw one owner from 2004 to 2014 and then another from 2014 to 2017. The recorded odometer readings ticked up at a constant rate that suggested this was someone's daily driver.

The car started up fine and we drove it 300 miles up to where I live, got the oil changed, and I started driving it to work. I get around 30mpg (although that average was determined by the OBD scanner and my phone and not a proper test)

I've had it for 3 weeks now and there are a few problems.

First problem was found when I saw a check engine light and got a code scanner off amazon. The car threw read codes P0174, P0171. I cleared the codes and they came back. Internet says i might have a vacuum leak so I got a fog generator and I plan to do a smoke test this weekend.

The next problem was electrical. After having it jumped twice I called AAA and when they came to jump me they told me I had about 3A when they did a drain test.