Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: Connector Madness

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36

    Question Connector Madness

    Hey all,

    So I'm trying to get NCS Dummy set-up on my laptop so I can do some coding to my E36 and I'm not sure what interface and cables to use.

    My car is a 1998 with the 20 pin under the hood.

    Is it safe to assume that I need a 20 pin -> OBD interface (I have this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/371111270754 ) and an OBD -> USB cable to connect to my laptop?

    Did I purchase the wrong interface because it's OBDII and not OBD?

    Can I use an OBDII -> USB cable or does it have to be specifically OBD -> USB?



    Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by golgo13; 03-27-2017 at 03:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    I also forgot to mention that I have one of these INPA K+DCAN cables that I used with my E92M:



    I have no idea if this can be used with OBD or not...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    What modules are you trying to code on your 98 M3?

    Many modules you can code via that K+DCAN posted (plus 20-pin adapter linked earlier), but not ABS/ASC+T and KOMBI. The latter 2 need something called ADS interface on a true serial port (along with an older version of EDIABAS/INPA)

    - - - Updated - - -

    And don't get hung up on OBD2 or OBD. They're all OBD2 if it has that connector.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Hey, thank you for posting. I really appreciate it.

    So, I'm trying to clear out the SRS airbag error code (I recently swapped steering wheels and now have an error) and see if it goes away for good or if I have a real problem
    and
    I'm getting ready to remove the seats from the car and install a race seat. I'm concerned it will throw a seat belt error and wanted to know how to code that out (as needed).

    I'm also reading about using NCS Dummy to remove the deadzone in the coolant gauge, which sounds awesome. My car is used on the track in 100*F weather, so having a more accurate gauge would be VERY useful for me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    For the coolant gauge you need more advanced interface, either ADS or ICOM, because the instrument cluster is only on L-line. It's a nice enough thing to do, a drop of 10 degrees F from the buffer will be just right. It will start moving the needle past midline as the temp is just getting a little hotter than usual.

    I did
    31,92,B0,CE,E7 (middle area is 176-206 deg F)

    instead of stock
    31,92,B0,D8,E7 (middle area is 176-216 deg F)


    Any more than that and the needle will climb too early, and I didn't like it on a street car. A bit of buffer is a good thing.



    The airbag module you can code with your INPA K+DCAN OBD cable and a 20-pin adapter, connected under the hood.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,484
    My Cars
    Made in Germany
    golgo13: Keep in mind that NCS Dummy is not a standalone coding tool. It's a helper tool to make working with NCS Expert much easier and achieve functionality that is not possible with a standard NCS Expert installation. So before even thinking about using NCS Dummy you first need a working NCS Expert setup.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    For the coolant gauge you need more advanced interface, either ADS or ICOM, because the instrument cluster is only on L-line.
    L-line? I need to go back to BMW coding 101 since I have no idea what that means, but I'll go do some more googling. INPA was installed onto my machine by a merchant for remote coding with my E92M last year and I've only used it to read and clear error codes. I don't even know how to load up the E36 and connect. I was unable to make it work last time I tried but maybe I picked the wrong DME?

    I have seen this ADS interface: http://openlabs.co/store/Tiny-ADS-In...-pin-connector which should work, so long as my laptop has a serial port. I have also seen ICOM hardware, but looked pretty pricy.
    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    The airbag module you can code with your INPA K+DCAN OBD cable and a 20-pin adapter, connected under the hood.
    Cool. I guess I'll have to find an INPA FAQ for the E36
    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    It's a nice enough thing to do, a drop of 10 degrees F from the buffer will be just right. It will start moving the needle past midline as the temp is just getting a little hotter than usual.

    I did
    31,92,B0,CE,E7 (middle area is 176-206 deg F)

    instead of stock
    31,92,B0,D8,E7 (middle area is 176-216 deg F)

    Any more than that and the needle will climb too early, and I didn't like it on a street car. A bit of buffer is a good thing.
    Very nice! I want to do this for sure! I wish there was a TLDR version for guys like me. I assume those are hex entries in memory? I'll have to come back to this once I know how to locate, back-up and edit my files with the proper editor.



    Quote Originally Posted by revtor View Post
    golgo13: Keep in mind that NCS Dummy is not a standalone coding tool. It's a helper tool to make working with NCS Expert much easier and achieve functionality that is not possible with a standard NCS Expert installation. So before even thinking about using NCS Dummy you first need a working NCS Expert setup.
    Thanks! I'll be sure to try and find NCS Expert and use the Dummy as a wrapper. I sort of gathered that and the fact that NCS Export is not freeware, so I will be buying it as well.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Vancouver Isl, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,173
    My Cars
    98 Euro M3, 04 M3, 06 M5
    Dont pay for NCS expert. Its safe to say that nobody has a genuine copy that should be saleable. Pretty sure BMW did not even sell the software in the first place. You may need an ADS interface to communicate with the airbag.
    Current:

    - 09 335i MSport, FBO.
    - 98 Euro M3, Estoril Blue
    - 04 M3, Carbon Black, 6 Speed Coupe
    - 06 M5, Black on Black, Full Leather.
    - 73 3.0CS, Tagia Green, 5 speed M30b35 converted

    Ex's: 1984 325e, 1988 325IX, 1992 525I, 1995 540i/6, 2002 330i, 2005 330xi, 1992 850i, 2003 330i #1, 2003 330i #2, 2002 330ci, 2004 330ci, 2007 328CI, 2007 335i, 2001 M3, 2006 M5 6 speed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Quote Originally Posted by legoman67 View Post
    Dont pay for NCS expert. You may need an ADS interface to communicate with the airbag.


    I think that interface I linked should work. I believe my laptop has a serial port, so I should be good.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Alright, thanks to 328 Power 04's help I'm all set-up. Tools work great and the step-by-step was perfect for me. I found that with kids, my time is so much more limited so I appreciate the on-ramp for getting up to speed.



    Last night I tried to wing it and see if I could figure out how to code without RTFM for NCS Dummy, but alas I was unsuccessful.

    I unpacked a KOMBI file, edited it and then repacked it... which is lol. I think I'll actually read about Trace Functions in NCS Dummy now...


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Nice! You learned how to unpack and modify the kombi daten? I think it's .C27 version on your car?
    I'm impressed.


    Ya, the only way you will be able to code/write to the KOMBI is through ADS and true serial, and the older INPA pack with EDIABAS 6.4.7 or 6.4.3.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    Nice! You learned how to unpack and modify the kombi daten? I think it's .C27 version on your car?
    I'm impressed.
    Yeah, and I saw the hex values for the temp gauge in the data and made edits, even if they were not actually editing values for the KOMBI module.

    What's the benefit of this? I can't understand why that would even be necessary.


    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    Ya, the only way you will be able to code/write to the KOMBI is through ADS and true serial, and the older INPA pack with EDIABAS 6.4.7 or 6.4.3.
    Oh, that's too bad. I had forgotten that little detail about the ADS...

    I'll have to see if I can track down an older EDIABAS as well.

    There isn't anything in the NCS Dummy instructions that go over that.

    "There are several approaches on getting other data values coded into the module, like nettodata coding or disassembly (see later), but starting from NCS Dummy version 0.6.0.0 it is possible to add new parameters from within the graphical trace editor and update the NCS Expert DATEN files. To do so, right-click on a function or function parameter and choose "Add Parameter" from the popup menu. A new parameter is added to the function and you can enter a custom data value and (optional) keyword. By default NCS Dummy gives new parameters keyword "new_parameter" but you can enter anything you like - the keyword does not even have to exist in the keyword file. You can add as many parameters as you like and parameters may share the same data value, but all parameters must have unique names. Once satisfied with the new parameter(s), update the actual NCS Expert DATEN files by choosing "Update Module..." from the "Module Functions" button dropdown menu. If something is wrong with the entered data, for example an empty or duplicate keyword or data value outside the mask, NCS Dummy will highlight the faulty parameter and field(s) in red and prevent you from updating the module until the fault is corrected.

    In the example below function "WL_DAUER" was expanded with six new parameters: "10_seconds" (0A), "20_seconds" (14), "30_seconds" (1E), "40_seconds" (28), "50_seconds" (32) and "60_seconds" (3C). Remember that data values are always hexadecimal!"
    So that won't work without an ADS cable and an older EDIABAS, huh?

    That's too bad. I guess I'll have to spend the $50 on that interface anyway. Well, I was able to clear my airbag error with INPA so that's a plus still.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    This cable should suffice so long as my laptop has a serial port, correct?

    http://openlabs.co/store/Tiny-ADS-In...-pin-connector

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Yes, that's the same ADS interface I have, well, mine's a little more barebones. I don't use mine anymore, as I have a couple of ICOMs, and no Serial port computers. (ICOM can connect to KOMBI with new INPA/EDIABAS versions just fine)




    I already sent you the link to software, if you read that first page carefully, it has links for the older versions you'll need too.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by golgo13 View Post
    Yeah, and I saw the hex values for the temp gauge in the data and made edits, even if they were not actually editing values for the KOMBI module.

    What's the benefit of this? I can't understand why that would even be necessary.


    Because the standard daten files are what write the temperatures to the KOMBI eeprom. The daten file you unpacked is more of a eeprom translation file... with preset temps only.

    When you customize the preset daten files, it will write your custom data back in.


    If you were to use an EEPROM reader on the cluster's eeprom, you'd be able to modify it yourself. But it requires more hardware disassembly and soldering.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Quote Originally Posted by 328 Power 04 View Post
    Yes, that's the same ADS interface I have, well, mine's a little more barebones. I don't use mine anymore, as I have a couple of ICOMs, and no Serial port computers. (ICOM can connect to KOMBI with new INPA/EDIABAS versions just fine)




    I already sent you the link to software, if you read that first page carefully, it has links for the older versions you'll need too.


    Can you share what you paid for your ICOM hardware? Though, I don't think I'll get too deep with this, but it would be nice in case any local friends want to make edits to their cars as well.

    I will go back and look again.

    Thanks!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    I got mine genuine from connections to a dealer that was about to throw away boxes and boxes of ICOM parts and broken ICOMS. There were mostly simple faults in the broken ones, so I mix and matched and made a few good ones... which some then went to the people supplying the connection. So I can't put a value on them, but it was just through knowing the right person. My 'cost' was the time for taking them apart and putting spare parts together to create (a few) good ones.



    Non genuine Chinese ones are around $250-$300 (specifically look for A2 ICOM with a heat sink built in, the Chinese ones have heat issues). xcar360.com sells a good one. But they work on every BMW ever made with a diagnostics port.
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 03-31-2017 at 07:29 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Cool.

    $50 interface it is!


  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    • requires a "real" serial port, as does every ADS interface in existence; will not work with USB-serial adapters

    Looks like my laptop doesn't have a serial port.

    Am I boned?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    I also noticed the values for my car are actually

    Code:
    TEMP_GEBERWERT_1
    wert_01 - 31
    
    TEMP_GEBERWERT_2
    wert_01 - 7B
    wert_02- 92
    
    TEMP_GEBERWERT_3
    wert_01- B0
    
    TEMP_GEBERWERT_4
    wert_01 - E1
    wert_02 - D8
    
    TEMP_GEBERWERT_5
    wert_01 - E7
    Not sure what to do with this info. I'll have to see where the E36M values are discussed.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Post the text contents of the daten file you decompiled so we can see. But Most likely it's .C27 (you won't know for sure until you connect to car)
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    I'll do that.

    In the interim, outside of ICOM is there a solution to my laptop lacking a serial port?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    12,521
    My Cars
    36 Cylinders
    Not really any other solutions. Either find an old computer/laptop with a true serial port, or find a friend with one. Or someone with an ICOM with "C" adapter.

    - - - Updated - - -

    This is the line you should be looking for in the daten. Stock is set to kennlinie_02, so those values are what get applied to the KOMBI.


    PARZUWEISUNG_FSW : {} 00000084 0005 019A {} (FF) {h} {} // TEMPERATUR_KENNLINIE
    PARZUWEISUNG_PSW1 : 0025 (31,7B,B0,E1,E7) // kennlinie_01
    PARZUWEISUNG_PSW1 : 00DE (31,92,B0,D8,E7) // kennlinie_02
    PARZUWEISUNG_PSW1 : 00DF (31,92,BF,CD,E1) // kennlinie_03


    I bolded the two values that are the min and max of the center line buffer. Take the hexadecimal values and convert them to decimal (use windows calculator in programmer mode); the converted value is degrees Fahrenheit.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg
    - 1999 S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs
    - 2019 M2 Competition, self-tuned, 504whp
    - 2016 Mini Cooper S

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Laptop arrived and I have the connector.

    Just need time to try this again and install the software on the eBay laptop I just picked up.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oahu / Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,016
    My Cars
    S54 E36
    Finally got everything installed but had one hang-up with WindowsXP. Seems like the Path creating utility isn't a valid win32 application.

    I continued on anyway, just need to test connecting to the car here soon... Car is currently is pieces as I put in the race seat.

    :/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. mad parts for sale, look
    By 232is PoWeR in forum BMW Parts For Sale
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-17-2002, 07:18 PM
  2. Let the Carbon Fiber madness begin
    By eeeks in forum General BMW and Automotive Discussion sponsored by Intercity Lines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-19-2002, 03:32 PM
  3. NE1 know where to get replacement BMW connectors
    By bmwguym3 in forum 1992 - 1999 M3 (E36)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2001, 09:03 AM
  4. check the hose connectors on your fuel filter!!!
    By M3Jokster in forum 1992 - 1999 M3 (E36)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-31-2001, 02:29 AM
  5. would you get mad??
    By RS in forum Kill Stories
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-13-2001, 01:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •