Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to BMW: E30 Barnfind

My Cars
    Cadillac DTS/79 Firebird

New to BMW: E30 Barnfind

Hey all. I have no experience with BMW besides owning a 2011 X5 for a couple of months. I recently got a e30 BMW. I have only seen the car once. It is a 325 convertible black/tan with 16k miles. I have idea what year it is but it is definitely an e30. The car was put in a dry shed in 2009 and has not run since. I have a little bit of mechanical skill but not a ton in regards to starting a car that has not driven in 8 years. Besides new oil, oil filter, battery and fresh gas what do you guys think I should do to it before trying to start it? I appreciate any suggestions!
    Thanks

My Cars
    E30M3 X2 R100GS/PD R60/5
    Change the timing belt......#1 critical with that age

Sent from my SM-G360V using Tapatalk
    Angus
    88 E30M3 X2 (1 summer/1 racetrack)
    89 325IX (winter)
    92 R100GS/PD

My Cars
    Bmw e30, Bmw e39, e10
    Timing belt, water pump, tensensior, spark plugs

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

323i E30 is offline ⅂!ʈө !ƨ l!ʞө ɐ ʇөlөbµouө
    My Cars
    M52 E30 touring & E91
    Welcome!

+1 on the timing belt.
    Have it replaced before trying to start the car.
    ^ true story

D̶i̶b̶s̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶E̶2̶1̶

richardodn is offline Old Guy BMW CCA Member
    My Cars
    20 440ix cab, 12 X3 35ix
    Like previously recommended, timing belt before cranking the engine. Failure of the belt means bent valves at the least.
    Pull the fuel pump out and inspect the tank for rust. Do it after the car has sat for hours and use a stick to stir the bottom of the tank. If a cloud forms you have a fuel tank to deal with.