Autogeek.net Car Care Products
** 10% off @ Autogeek.net - PinnacleWax.com & Wolfgangcarcare.com - Coupon Code = clubmember

Thread: Ceramic Coating?

My Cars
    97 M3/2/5

Ceramic Coating?

Ceramic coating, this is new news to me. I'm unsure how this process work? Does this delete the process of adding on sealant and wax?
    Example: I usually will do a 2 step polish and finish with sealant then wax to top it off. From what I read (correct me if I'm wrong) I can do my polish to paint correct and just throw on this ceramic coat? 2-3 coats for long lasting results?
    I've been looking at the Sonax CC36.
    This ceramic coating supposedly last for about a year? o.O"

Please help and I'm a newbie to detailing.
    Current cars:
    87' Zinnorot 325is
    91' Alpine white 318is
    92' E30 Alpine white Mtechnic
    97' E36 Alpine white M3/2/5

My Cars
    //M5s, 4.8iS , Z32TT
    It's like the last defend for the paint. Sealant and wax are still recommended on top of ceramic coating as more defensive layer.

2000 Dinan S1 //M5 (my DD) --------------- 06 DINAN E53 4.8iS (wife's) -------------- 90 Straman Z32TT (my pride & joy)

Gone, but not forgotten: 01 E39 M5, 01 E53 3.0i, 01 525i Sport, 03 DINAN 540i MSport and 91 Z32 TwinTurbo

My Cars
    97 M3/2/5
    Quote Originally Posted by tmvE39E53Z32TT View Post
    It's like the last defend for the paint. Sealant and wax are still recommended on top of ceramic coating as more defensive layer.
    From what I've read, the sealant and wax won't bond on once the ceramic coat is on?
    Current cars:
    87' Zinnorot 325is
    91' Alpine white 318is

My Cars
    2003 540i - M-Sport
    I did the wolfgang uber ceramic coating on my car

prep work is key...
    applying the coating is easy (thats y i chose the wolfgang)

its a semi-permanent coat of wax, you can maintain it by maintenance washes and a proper quick detailer.