RM European Auto Parts

Thread: 2000 bmw 528i issues after engine rebuild

My Cars
    2000 bmw 528i, 2004 bmw

2000 bmw 528i issues after engine rebuild

Okay so I just finished rebuilding my 2000 bmw 528i engine and this was my first time doing this so please bare with me as everything I know is self taught. I bought the car with a blown head gasket and ended up replacing the block with a remanufactured block and head with new gaskets all the way through both. After getting everything put back together I started it up and the engine is chugging and won't Rev higher than 1200rpm. I tested for vacuum leaks using starter fluid around the intake boot and pulled the o2 sensors from the exhaust manifold to test for back pressure and found no obvious issues. The only European code reader I can find is the little 2 digit handheld black one which Gave me the codes for the torque converter, the front o2 sensor, and the throttle body. I also didn't realize until after I started the engine that I did the torque sequence for the iron block which is 22lbs 90° 90° instead of 30lbs 90° 90° is their an extra torque sequence I can add or an over lb rating or do I need to start over with new bolts. Any help or information you guys can give me to help me get this running right would be great thank you.
    Last edited by AwkwardNoob44; 03-20-2017 at 06:29 PM.

My Cars
    2000 bmw 528i, 2004 bmw

Not sure if this helps or not

My Cars
    2001 BMW E39 Sport