Thread: Left Parking Filament and Turn Filament ON when headlights ON, 1987 BMW 325e

My Cars
    1987 BMW 325e

Unhappy Left Parking Filament and Turn Filament ON when headlights ON, 1987 BMW 325e

Hello,

If you've got any suggestions for the following issue I would be incredibly grateful. I'm new to working on cars and this electrical issue has got me stumped! My best guess is that some wires are crossed/shorted in the front left fender/lighting area, that are running the ground through the entirety of the lighting system!

Funky behavior:
    CASE 1: headlight switch OFF => turn signals function at normal rate, left front signal is more dim than right. Turn indicators show in dash.
    CASE 2: headlight switch ON => right parking filament ON, right turn filament functions normally with control. left parking filament ON, left turn filament ON (non-flashing), left indicator in dash ON (non-flashing).

Things I've tried:
    1. Test continuity (resistance) to body of car => every wire (not just brown) in headlights and turn lights has continuity to body of the car!
    2. left front bulb and right front bulb switched => same behavior as CASE 1 and CASE 2
    3. left front bulb removed => everything works as it should, back left turn signal blinks twice as fast as normal.
    4. clean ground connection at front left fender. => no change

Relevant history:
    1. Previous owner had removed all turning bulbs, had never noticed odd behavior with headlights ON
    2. I had first noticed behavior after installing turning bulbs AND replacing turn signal control at steering column.

Please help me bimmer forums!

- - - Updated - - -

Relevant wiring diagrams:
    http://imgur.com/a/VQSoy

richardodn is offline Old Guy BMW CCA Member
    My Cars
    20 440ix cab, 12 X3 35ix
    Check the lamp socket and connector behind the fixture for corrosion.
    "Howdy, Folks!"

1986 Delphin 528e - Roof rack equipped lumber hauler.