Thread: Just bought today..2003 325 XIT..have a question.

My Cars
    E46 wag. E36 convertible

Just bought today..2003 325 XIT..have a question.

I'm new to BMW...however, not new to Audi, or Mercedes, from over the past 25 years. This afternoon, I bought a 2003 wagon, $5k. It has 116k miles, has been garage kept. All interior and exterior show truly as brand new, has a clean CarFax. I bought the car...but after the test drive, it seemed to me that the steering was very hard to turn the steering wheel when compared with my Audi A6....It may not be abnormal...I just was surprised! ....Would anyone please to comment...I'm ignorant!
    Last edited by Eaglesail; 03-15-2017 at 05:16 PM.

My Cars
    2001 325i; 2006 325i
    Eaglesale, very hard is sort of relative. Are you able to turn it with one hand, if so and as long as turns smooth, you are fine. The steering it TIGHT. Audi and Mercedes, eh? Get ready for a real car. LOL, jk.

My Cars
    EXOTICS
    I think you're experiencing steering feedback, something that was sought after and appreciated by driving enthusiasts of the Ultimate Driving Machine.
    Newer cars have lost that type of tight, sports car feel to the steering, possibly why you describe it as hard, while a BMW enthusiast would describe it as taut!

My Cars
    03 zhp, 97 e36m3, 04 zhp
    Not only newer cars. I've driven my share of Audi and Mercedes cars and they have a feather light steering with little feedback.

Quote Originally Posted by MIKYZZ4 View Post
    Newer cars have lost that type of tight, sports car feel to the steering, possibly why you describe it as hard, while a BMW enthusiast would describe it as taut!

My Cars
    EXOTICS
    I was referring to newer cars in general, as I was a Hotel valet driver, back in my younger days.
    I basically drove every car under the sun back then, and have real world experience with the entire gamut,