Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: 99 E36 M3 STU/ GTS2-3 build #thesilvercar

My Cars
    99 M3, 11 GT3RS

99 E36 M3 STU/ GTS2-3 build #thesilvercar

Hey wanted to start a build thread to try and chronicle everything I've been doing to the car. Been lurking on here for years and have raced Honda's Miatas and what not as well as tracked about every car I own. This hobby started for me when I was a kid as my dad raced CRX's then Integras back in the day. When I graduated college I bought an MKIV Supra and instead of using it on the drag strip and on the highway, I built and modified it for track use. My vision for that car was a GT3 version of the Supra. Car was great, it would run mid 20's at Sebring. Lo an behold about 8 years later I sell it and bought the real deal, a 997.2 GT3RS which is the baby. I tracked it for several years and then it started appreciating. A Lot. So now it sits in the garage. Meanwhile I raced a Honda Prelude and a Miata Cup car whenever I could.

Supra:

Blue Car:

Fast forward, I wanted to buy an E30 M3, realized I had no where to put it, so I didnt buy it. Convinced my wife that we should move to a house with a 3 car garage, we did. Then I had no money left over. So instead of the E30, I thought man, I can sell the Honda and build an E36 in the garage with the kids. The E36 was my childhood dream car, always loved the look of them, I had instructed in may of them, my brother in law has had several of them, So that replacement parts were not astronomical, and said F it.

So here we are. I tried to find a car that was not too beat up. Thought about buying a track car that was built already, but I have been down that path and it's a mess. Trying to fix people's short cuts and the like. Plus, some of the funnest parts of this hobby is making the car better. SO I searched for about a month and pulled the trigger on this car:

No that's not me in the background!