Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: driving e36 in snow?

My Cars
    95 Boston green 325is

driving e36 in snow?

hello,
    i'm thinking about daily driving an e36(no ASC) in the winter and i was wondering what would be needed to do so in a safe manner..
    would 2 winter tires in the rear be enough? are brand new all seasons alright? i'm a poor student and i'm trying to get the best for my money.. what else would need to be done to have a safe drive in the snow since i live in chicago, winters are harsh. i don't think i have LSD.
    (95 325is 5 speed)

323i E30 is offline ⅂!ʈө !ƨ l!ʞө ɐ ʇөlөbµouө
    My Cars
    M52 E30 touring & E91
    If I had just 2 winter tires, I'd put them in the front for braking and steering..
    I used to own an E36 specifically to keep my E30s from the snow, and it did the job well (no ASC or LSD either).

Imo, get some 2nd hand winter tires and use them in the winter, if on a budget.
    It's not twice as expensive to own 2 sets of tires, because the other set is not wearing down while stored. Seems obvious, but often overlooked :p
    ^ true story

D̶i̶b̶s̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶E̶2̶1̶

My Cars
    95 Boston green 325is
    Quote Originally Posted by 323i E30 View Post
    If I had just 2 winter tires, I'd put them in the front for braking and steering..
    I used to own an E36 specifically to keep my E30s from the snow, and it did the job well (no ASC or LSD either).

Imo, get some 2nd hand winter tires and use them in the winter, if on a budget.
    It's not twice as expensive to own 2 sets of tires, because the other set is not wearing down while stored. Seems obvious, but often overlooked :p
    yeah i was looking fir some used decent ones everyone's asking price is crazy though

My Cars
    95 Boston green 325is
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyke View Post
    ^ You can drive anything with the proper tires and good car control
    true, i'm new to rwd and chicago winters

My Cars
    F90 M5; E36 M3 Turbo