Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Rediculous e36 rotary valve engine project

My Cars
    1999 M3 , 1999 328is

Rediculous e36 rotary valve engine project

Over about the last year or so, my twin brother and I have been designing and building a rotary valve engine head for a 1999 e36 328is that we purchased just for this project. Just yesterday it drove for the first time so I figured I would post up a few videos for those interested in e36s and crazy engines. If anyone here has read up on rotary valve engines before, we implemented a Cross style design which is best known for being successfully run by Ralph Watson in a 1930s vintage BSA roadster, and by the Mercedes-Ilmor formula 1 racing team.

First video is one of the first drives. All of the smoke is from some extra oil that has pooled inside of the intake plenum over the last few months of testing so it is burning out. The head has a constant loss oil system.
    The second video shows the head during idle which nicely shows the general operation of the head.

Current fleet:
    1999 BMW e36 M3
    1999 BMW e36 328is with rotary valve engine head
    1999 Oldsmobile Eighty Eight
    1990 Jeep Comanche Eliminator
    1962 Austin Healey Sprite

My Cars
    E21 323i, E36 M3
    Over-the-top doesn't even begin to describe this

This will really confuse people at shows

Please post more details
    Last edited by hotdish; 08-14-2016 at 12:09 AM.

My Cars
    yay
    what the.

My Cars
    1998 M3 Vert, 1992 318i
    :

Now there's something you don't see every day...

I love the thought and work that's gone into this. Makes the Mech-E in me happy. I hope you share more of the process and details!

Subbed.
    Last edited by boarder2k7; 08-13-2016 at 11:49 PM.
    Caprica Junkie

My Cars
    One Too Many
    wow, a M52 with rotary valves!! now there's something entirely different and actually I dont care about it being different, its really nice sounding, my kinda nice