Thread: Does anyone sell swap plates or modify 320i subframe for the m20

My Cars
    bmw 320i

Does anyone sell swap plates or modify 320i subframe for the m20

Hey forums, I'm looking at a 2.7l stroker. Does anyone sell swap plates or modify the front subframe to accept the m20? Can't find a 6 cylinder subframe. Any ideas or direction will also help. I remember Charbel had fabbed his own mounts but I'll also need a suitable subframe. I'm not good at making parts, I'd much rather pay for the part or pay someone to do it. Thanks guys

My Cars
    1983 BMW 320i M20 Turbo
    Best bet would probably be to mock fit the m20 into your car with your stock m10 subframe and make cardboard templates of the engine mount arms needed. Then you can take your subframe and templates to a welding shop and have them weld it up for you. Otherwise you can look at bmwe21.net and possibly find an e21 m20 subframe and arms. Getting harder and harder these days tho. Also, quick google search found me this ... http://www.hikfabrication.com/arvixe/E21_products.html Not sure on availability tho.
    Last edited by bassboy3313; 03-21-2016 at 10:42 AM.
    1999 Z3 Coupe 2.8L

CHECK OUT >>>
    RAGE DRIFT DESIGNS <<< FOR DECALS AND MORE!

My Cars
    bmw 320i
    Thanks brother! I have no idea how you found that, but that's why I come here. If anyone else has any other suggestions or buy locations it'll be appreciated.

My Cars
    e21, e30 m3. e46 330ci
    Quote Originally Posted by bassboy3313 View Post
    I would definitely not do this! if bmw thought it was sound engineering practice to attach the M20 to the M10's mounting points then they would have only made one subframe. to hang a torquey six cylinder off that lever on the driver's side is looking for trouble. just modify the M10 frame and use the E30's mounting arms.

- - - Updated - - -

here is the M10 subframe, it happens to be post 9/78 production.

- - - Updated - - -

and here are the pre and post M20 subframes