Page 1 of 22 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: E36 M3 RallyCross build!

My Cars
    98 M3/4/5, RIP 528e

E36 M3 RallyCross build!

Hey there Bimmerforums, I'm a long time lurker, but this is probably my first real thread. I've been loving E36 M3s since high school (10+ years ago), but it wasn't until my E28 rallycross car (build thread) got rear ended by a tractor trailer that I finally had a good opportunity to pick one up.

RIP E28, you were loved.

Except I wouldn't be building it for auto-x/track like I imagined, but rather for rallycross! It turns out that one of the guys in my class at Solo happened to be selling a silver 98 M3/4/5, and he was only asking $4,000! I wanted the sedan because it's much easier to get wheels into the back seat, and silver is pretty cool, so it really got my attention.

Here's the seller's description, "it's a pretty nice car, but it's got high miles (220k) and burns some oil.....it's got bilsteins, hawk brakes, brand new TR motorsports rims (tires are shot), UUC short shift kit, aluminum flywheel, newer clutch, aluminum radiator, new overflow tank, Dinan strut tower brace, projector Depo headlights with HID, M50 manifold, Conforti intake, cat back, AC Schnitzer pedals, new driveshaft & guibo, etc. it has a couple tiny bubbles on the rear fender lip and a spot on the roof that could use a respray."

A page of maintenance history for his two years of ownership showed things like coolant, trans and diff fluids, oil temp gauge, clutch delay valve and spring, rear ABS sensors, reman starter, new/used front door panels, thermostat, shifter linkage rebuilt, CCV done, replaced all dead bulbs in OBC, power steering hoses, all dead bulbs in instrument cluster, oil filter housing gasket, exhaust gaskets, O2 sensor, coolant level sensor and connector, CSB to go along with the new driveshaft, and much more.