Page 4 of 29 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 718

Thread: The Z3 Diagnostics Thread: Instructions, Experiences, Discussions, Experimentation

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Hmm, I'll try somehow to keep it with very few words, if possible. Most people just glance over the text and not read it anyways. And the more I put, the crowded it gets and people get lost.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I was going to put the changed inpa.ini inside a self extracting .exe (like the install files to inpa pack) and have it automatically insert it into the INPA folder where it belongs.

    Maybe I will make a few mods, in the self extracting exe style to make it easy for anyone. Examples would be a different EDIABAS version (6.4.7 or 7.3.0), automatic E36/E46 daten update, inpa.ini menu changes...

    Unless it wouldn't help too much? I'm more or less thinking "out loud" here, to see some additional improvements, as there was some good feedback.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    849
    My Cars
    2001 Z3 3.0 Coupe
    I'd love to have our car come up on the main screen, and would actually prefer to learn how it's done and do it myself...but I agree that if you type up a how-to, it'll probably get lost in the noise for most people.
    2001 Z3 3.0 Coupe--Sterling Gray/Sunroof Delete/5MT

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great Dismal Swamp
    Posts
    14,491
    My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E39/2 E46
    It's kinda like the Linux desktop arguments. The power users like to have things configureable so they can have it just how they want it. The non users don't care, accepting what is there as "the way it is". And the people that have to support the systems desperately want everyone to have exactly the same thing.

    So the .exe of the replacement config is a good idea. Everyone will have the same screens. And those that want to tinker, the root file is INPA.INI. It cascades to other files, such as BMW_ALT.ENG. All text. Mostly English. Keep backups. Tinker.
    Last edited by rf900rkw; 07-24-2015 at 07:14 PM.


    /.randy

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    849
    My Cars
    2001 Z3 3.0 Coupe
    I opened INPA.INI from the folder C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT. This looks like the right file. Here's the text that I think applies to the Z3/E36:


    F16 = BMW_ALT
    F16_KNOPF = Old
    F16_TEXT = Old Modells
    F16_ARCHIV = SGBD_BMW


    And here's the text that selects the E87 (I just picked this at random):

    F9 = E87
    F9_Text = E87 (E81, E82, E88) / 1er
    F9_ARCHIV = SGBD_E87

    The only difference between the two formats is that there is "F16_KNOPF" for the old stuff, which I think is just the text that appears on the button on screen.


    So would it work to just swap these so they say:

    F9 = BMW_ALT
    F9_KNOPF =Old
    F9_Text = Old Models (I changed this as well, I think Old Modells was a typo)
    F9_ARCHIV = SGBD_BMW

    F16 = E87
    F16_Text = E87 (E81, E82, E88) / 1er
    F16_ARCHIV = SGBD_E87





    What does the first line (the one with nothing after the F#) and last line (the one with _ARCHIV) control?
    2001 Z3 3.0 Coupe--Sterling Gray/Sunroof Delete/5MT

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great Dismal Swamp
    Posts
    14,491
    My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E39/2 E46
    F#= is the script that section controls


    What it is saying is


    F16 = BMW_ALT
    When F16 (which is shift F6) is pressed, run script BMW_ALT

    F16_KNOPF = Old
    Label the button on the bottom of hte screen "Old"

    F16_TEXT = Old Modells

    Label the text on the menu "Old Modells"

    F16_ARCHIV = SGBD_BMW

    I believe F#_ARCHIV is the associated source code file. We didn't get those.



    Hint. Look at BMW_ALT.ENG.
    Last edited by rf900rkw; 07-24-2015 at 10:12 PM.


    /.randy

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    425
    My Cars
    M Coupe & ZHP
    Does anyone happen to know the diameter of the stock muffler inlet size for a 3.0?

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDangles View Post
    Does anyone happen to know the diameter of the stock muffler inlet size for a 3.0?


    2.25"?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by kornfeld View Post
    I opened INPA.INI from the folder C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT. This looks like the right file. Here's the text that I think applies to the Z3/E36:


    F16 = BMW_ALT
    F16_KNOPF = Old
    F16_TEXT = Old Modells
    F16_ARCHIV = SGBD_BMW


    And here's the text that selects the E87 (I just picked this at random):

    F9 = E87
    F9_Text = E87 (E81, E82, E88) / 1er
    F9_ARCHIV = SGBD_E87

    The only difference between the two formats is that there is "F16_KNOPF" for the old stuff, which I think is just the text that appears on the button on screen.


    So would it work to just swap these so they say:

    F9 = BMW_ALT
    F9_KNOPF =Old
    F9_Text = Old Models (I changed this as well, I think Old Modells was a typo)
    F9_ARCHIV = SGBD_BMW

    F16 = E87
    F16_Text = E87 (E81, E82, E88) / 1er
    F16_ARCHIV = SGBD_E87





    What does the first line (the one with nothing after the F#) and last line (the one with _ARCHIV) control?


    Example:
    We replace the Z4 section on the main screen

    F8 = E85
    F8_Text = E85 (E86, E89) / Z4
    F8_ARCHIV = SGBD_E85


    with

    F8 = E36/7/8
    F8_Text = Z3 (E36)
    F8_ARCHIV = SGBD_E36




    Done.

    You have a menu for E36/7/8 For Z3 under button F8.




    Explanation

    F8 = E36/7/8 (freetext for button at bottom of INPA screen)
    F8_Text = Z3 (E36) (freetext for description)
    F8_ARCHIV = SGBD_E36 (choice of database of scripts)
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 07-24-2015 at 11:51 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    425
    My Cars
    M Coupe & ZHP
    Thanks bud

  9. #84
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    I added automatic Self Extracting modification to add "E36 (All Models / Z3)" to F2 button in INPA.
    This is found in Section E, at number 1.


    The self extracting archive replaces INPA.INI from C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT with a modified INPA.INI that contains E36 / Z3 for Button F2. A few other common models have been moved around and added.

    -F2 E36
    -F3 E39
    -F4 E46
    -F5 E53
    -F6 E60
    -F7 E65
    -F8 E70
    -F9 E90




    If you want to customize it further, the instructions are a few posts up.
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 07-28-2015 at 10:42 AM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Boiling Springs, PA
    Posts
    5,822
    My Cars
    '02 Z3 3.0i/'10 Cooper S
    When I try to run INPA, this is what comes up on the screen. It seems like something is missing.
    The laptop is plugged into the 20pin engine bay adapter and the green light is lit on the chip adapter. Any suggestions?


  11. #86
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Quote Originally Posted by cngizbleevng View Post
    When I try to run INPA, this is what comes up on the screen. It seems like something is missing.
    The laptop is plugged into the 20pin engine bay adapter and the green light is lit on the chip adapter. Any suggestions?

    Reinstall all 3 packs exactly like in the instructions. What you have usually happens when the 2nd step isn't carried out.

    A proper reinstall will fix it.

    Delete 'NCSEXPER' and 'NCSEXPER.$$$' folders in your C: drive to make reinstall glitch free.
    If you can't get it, install "TeamViewer' and PM me your number to do remote desktop.
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 07-29-2015 at 06:33 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Boiling Springs, PA
    Posts
    5,822
    My Cars
    '02 Z3 3.0i/'10 Cooper S
    Ok, so I have the full menu set now, but there were a couple things that happened during the install that I'm not sure about.

    Here's a screenshot that shows an warning code showing up in the DOS window. Also, there was nothing I saw that showed how to do that last part in the description about the 'serial port.reg'. Is this going to cause a problem?

    Last edited by cngizbleevng; 07-30-2015 at 07:41 PM.

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    The DOS (command prompt) window is supposed to come up, it sets up the OBD cable.

    Regarding the serial port.reg, double click on it to add the correct FIFO buffer settings to the serial port, as it is not configurable with the newer drivers. Not entirely necessary, but it helps in some cases.
    You can always add the serial port.reg to the registry at anytime.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Now if you want to add e36 to your front screen menus, try adding the automatic mod in section E.
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 07-30-2015 at 07:52 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    O.C. Oregon
    Posts
    1,056
    My Cars
    E36-E367-E39-E53
    So I have my software installed and all seems well. I'm still awaiting my cables. Cruzing around in INPA, I can find all sorts of different models except an E53? Do I use E39 for an E53?
    ​~Mike


  15. #90
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Go to Section E of the first post on this thread and look at the automatic modification to add Z3 (and E53 is also included) to the main menu.

    Those are all configurable, which chassis shows up and not.


    (but yes, E39 would also work, but it may not have all the modules listed)
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 08-01-2015 at 12:35 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  16. #91
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great Dismal Swamp
    Posts
    14,491
    My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E39/2 E46
    One of the late night sessions at ZFest last weekend was configuring a recalcitrant INPA installation. We finally traced the issue to the 16-20 pin adapter. I finally got a chance to look at the "bad" adapter. Turns out TxD2 isn't wired up at all. Since this particular installation was from an eastern European country, I'm guessing they used an adapter that didn't take the US-centric TxD2 line into consideration.

    So if you have an installation that gives an error 0009 with the 20pin, but connects to the DME okay with the 16 pin, open the adapter and bridge pin 17 to 20.


    /.randy

  17. #92
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Quote Originally Posted by rf900rkw View Post
    One of the late night sessions at ZFest last weekend was configuring a recalcitrant INPA installation. We finally traced the issue to the 16-20 pin adapter. I finally got a chance to look at the "bad" adapter. Turns out TxD2 isn't wired up at all. Since this particular installation was from an eastern European country, I'm guessing they used an adapter that didn't take the US-centric TxD2 line into consideration.

    So if you have an installation that gives an error 0009 with the 20pin, but connects to the DME okay with the 16 pin, open the adapter and bridge pin 17 to 20.
    A few months ago when I checked one (of a few) 20pin adapter with my 328, it did exactly that, DME only reached with the OBD port. Thank you for that update, I will go back and make sure it is set up correctly.
    The software pack was from the Romanian ebay seller that is making a lot of money selling a fairly well put together DIS pack? I've seen it installed, it was fine.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  18. #93
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great Dismal Swamp
    Posts
    14,491
    My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E39/2 E46
    Sounds like the same package. Nice little launcher front end?


    /.randy

  19. #94
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Yes that one. He's made himself rich with selling bootleg software in a nice package.

    Unfortunately it doesn't allow some customizations, like adding NCSExpert that runs on 64-bit, etc.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  20. #95
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    O.C. Oregon
    Posts
    1,056
    My Cars
    E36-E367-E39-E53
    Cables came today. I tried using them on my e38 and kept getting the 0009 error through the 20 pin. Tried the obd, same thing. Then I tried the same on my Z with the same results. The battery and ignition are not highlighted (black) on the main screen.

    So, I double checked the properties, they are set to com1 with 1 milliseconds.
    Double checked that the edibas obd was on com1. Same results.

    I just did the cable mod, soldering pins 7&8 together and then programming.

    Now I'm getting 0018 initialization error. Both through the obd and 20 pin.

    Help!!
    ​~Mike


  21. #96
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    Unplug cable, restart computer. Plug in cable still making sure it's COM1, and run INPA. You should get one or two black dots lit if your cable is reaching INPA.

    Then when it all works, with ignition on, diagnose car.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also make sure you ran "C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\OBD\OBDSetup.exe"
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  22. #97
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    O.C. Oregon
    Posts
    1,056
    My Cars
    E36-E367-E39-E53
    Ok so whatever reason device properties is stuck on com8. So I switched edibas to com8 and got two black dots.

    Now im back to the 0009 error on my Z and the e38 on both ports.

    - - - Updated - - -

    So everything is on com1 now, but I'm getting the same results. No matter what I plug into, I always get "0009 no responce from control unit."
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ​~Mike


  23. #98
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great Dismal Swamp
    Posts
    14,491
    My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E39/2 E46
    Is the key on II?


    /.randy

  24. #99
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    O.C. Oregon
    Posts
    1,056
    My Cars
    E36-E367-E39-E53
    No

    is it supposed to be

    - - - Updated - - -

    That was it!!!
    ​~Mike


  25. #100
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,554
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

Page 4 of 29 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •