Page 29 of 29 FirstFirst ... 41920212223242526272829
Results 701 to 707 of 707

Thread: The Z3 Diagnostics Thread: Instructions, Experiences, Discussions, Experimentation

  1. #701
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,414
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    I am not sure at all why that would come up.
    I would make sure you're running the program as XP service pack 3 compatibility, and As Administrator.

    The BMW Standard Tools program has been installed thousands of times by many people, and I haven't seen this yet.
    Can you try on a different computer?
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  2. #702
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Brigham City, Utah
    Posts
    3
    My Cars
    1998 BMW Z3
    I have a 1998 Z3 2.8l automatic. wife burned up the transmission and I replaced it with a used one out of another 1998 Z3. I havn't been able to get it to shift out of first gear. I'm hoping flashing the TCM or the ECU will help. I have installed BMW standard tools and INPA works but when I attempt to flash TCM I get error messages. When Ive looked at updating the ECU it looks like it has the up to date files already flashed. I used the daten files from this thread and got the error message for the TCU and then i tried the datens from Bimmer geeks and got the same message. Im new to flashing and coding so I'm stuck at this point. Is there something else that i need to do. Do i need to use NCS expert to code the new transmission to the TCM. Willa flash update work. Just need some advice. one thing I did notice is that when i have INPA running and I look up the coidng info for the tcm that the manufacture date isnt there. Don't know if thats related. Again any help is appreciated. Here are pictures of the error codes that come up. IMG_0381.jpg IMG_0379.jpg

  3. #703
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,414
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    That transmission module is not flashable. And that's a desperate attempt, as it wouldn't solve anything.

    Can you simply post the current errors in transmission and dme?

    And as I understand, you replaced the transmission itself, not the module?
    Last edited by 328 Power 04; 01-16-2019 at 08:41 PM.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  4. #704
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Marietta,Ohio
    Posts
    8
    My Cars
    1991 e32 750il
    Working on my z4m Coupé.
    Hello I am having trouble connecting my Blue vag-com from ecstuning to use INPA...my heater and ac are in transport or energy save mode.
    -the INPA says no battery and no ign
    -it will read but not clear the codes
    please help it’s cold lol

    - I downloaded ftdi and did the pid_6001 modified to pid_7523 in fitbus and fitinf to connect the usb serial port
    Last edited by Lure; Yesterday at 09:09 PM.

  5. #705
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,414
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    If you have a connection to read codes, then you need to delete transport mode out of all the modules.
    Attempting to clear error codes is not enough.

    So do you have a connection or not?
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

  6. #706
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Marietta,Ohio
    Posts
    8
    My Cars
    1991 e32 750il
    No I don’t have complete connection with the cable...I’ve tried several times. Is it possible the cable is bad?

  7. #707
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,414
    My Cars
    MCoupe, 328is, Z3, TDI
    What month/year production Z4?
    The blue vagcom cables don't ever report ignition and voltage anyways.


    If pre 02/2007, then you need to bridge pins 7&8 of the OBD cable.
    If post 02/2007, then you need to be using a Canbus capable cable, such as K+DCAN.

    Make sure your cable latency is set at 1ms.
    I may need to help you get a Z4 menu in your INPA, if you don't already have one.
    -Abel

    - E36 328is ~210-220whp: Lots of Mods. RomRaider self-tune work in progress.
    - 2000 Z3: Many Mods.
    - 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual 47-50mpg: Many Mods ~300ft/lbs tq, diesel, daily beater. Love/Hate relationship.
    - S52 Estoril M Coupe
    - 2014 328d Wagon, self-tuned, 240hp/400ft-lbs

Page 29 of 29 FirstFirst ... 41920212223242526272829

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •