Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: testify's E36 Sedan DSP Build

My Cars
    3 Series

testify's E36 Sedan DSP Build

Time to start a build thread.

I've been autocrossing since 2008, I've run a few different cars. I've run a ST 07 Impreza, GS 07 Civic Si, RT 11 WRX, and SMF 92 Civic Si. I've been lucky enough to be able to hold onto the RTA and SMF car through all of this.

But since my first event in 2008, I knew that one day I would build my E36 into a DSP monster. It has eaten away at me since day one. There is nothing like the exhaust note of a DSP BMW, lifting its tires past every cone in the slalom, you can see the air buffeting off the rear spoiler on a hot day!

I mean, really, who wouldn't want to build one?

The car

1996 328i
    Nice and heavy with all the options
    I'm the original owner, bought as a leftover in '97 from Wide World of Cars in NY, and just cracked 80k miles

Regrettably I actually let the car sit for about 7 years, from April 2004 to February 2011. I was in a motorcycle accident in 04, and couldn't drive a stick for a while, and just ended up moving on to a bunch of other cars while the 328i sat.

Pulled it out of the weeds, err, snow in 2011. All it took was a jump and it started right up, no smoke, no issues.

I shoveled it out, and in true BMW fashion, it promptly got stuck in a half inch of snow

She cleans up nice!

Hard to see in the picks, but there are lots of dents and a cracked windshield from the tree it was parked under for the better half of a decade, but restoring the body and paint is on my list.

And if I weren't the tech chair at my local club, I'd be trying to sneak it onto the course with the broken windshield

My goal is to get it together for the 2015 season.

Anyway, on to the fun stuff!

Motor

AKG Motorsports Motor Mounts 75D
    aFe Cold Air Intake
    S50/M50 OBD1 Intake Manifold and Eurosport Conversion Kit
    Koyo 48mm Aluminum Radiator
    SPAL Thinline 16" Puller Electric Fan