Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Effective spring rates

My Cars
    2000 M Roadster

Effective spring rates

I have been changing my springs around for a couple years to see how different springs effect my car. I have ended up with 600 front and 750 rear.

I run 255/40 17 extreme performance tires. I started with Star Specs 4 years ago, then Hankook RS3s for 2.5 years and now Rivals a few months ago.

I have found that with the spring I run the car has great grip on concrete, but not as good on asphalt. When I ran with the same 4 guys for a few years in the Wash D.C. region I was usually first on concrete and usually 3rd or fourth on asphalt.

So here in Florida almost all our events are on concrete and it is really good and my car sticks very well. But we have some events on asphalt and I want to be fast there also.

So I have done some searching and made this chart using data from Gustave's web site. Also if you checked Vorshlags site when they sold AST shocks for our cars they recommended 3 sets of springs, 500f 550r, 550f 650r and 600f 750r. So I was running their stiffest spring recommendations, which happens to agree reasonably well with this chart.

At the next asphalt event I think I will run 550 front and 700 rear, because I have those springs handy, maybe order some more soft springs after that. I am ditching the 5.5 springs in the rear and making some delrin adapters so I can run 6 inch springs front and rear.

14001019498_8293f1bebb_b.jpg
    Last edited by jbrannon7; 05-14-2014 at 06:38 PM.

My Cars
    E36/7 E36/8x2 E46 F25
    Errr, you are using wheel rate for the front, but suspension ratio for the rear. Rear wheel rate is 0.45

http://e30m3project.com/e30m3perform.../eff_rate2.htm

/.randy

My Cars
    2011 E92 M3, 2007 335i