Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 44

Thread: How to add wifi to ICOM A1 clone.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M

    How to add wifi to ICOM A1 clone.

    How to add Mini PCI Type III 124 pins Socket ?


    We start with this





    And this




    You can buy 5 sockets for 5$ here


    First placement





    Let's go to serious things








    Looks good



    Card on




    You will need last 3.10.44 Icom's Firmware to have Wifi on any router.

    You can download it here

    Upgrade the firmware then go to http://ip.of.your.icom:58000/?CodeCountry=DE
    Last edited by Seb530DA; 03-27-2014 at 10:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dirty MFin Jersey
    Posts
    1,306
    My Cars
    M3 Buildup
    great work, I have the same hot air station works well doesn't she
    Buy my native installed ISIS ISTA-D/ISTA-P bmw diagnostic laptop. More Info Here!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    619
    My Cars
    BMW 330CI DropTop
    Thank you for this DIY, just what I needed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,861
    My Cars
    BMW 850 and E55 AMG
    Remember to be careful with the networks if you are using Phonix1129's build!

    Giftschrank Projekt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M
    After many tests I can confirm that the expensive and very rare Sparklan WMIA-199N Wifi card is not needed I'm using this "cheap" wifi card based on Atheros 9160 chipset with those antennas.


    As you can see on the screenshots below it's work














    Priority is set to LAN if you want to use WIFI connect your ICOM to your car without LAN cable connected.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Shenzhen
    Posts
    19
    My Cars
    2009 BMW 135i
    That's great. Thanks for your sharing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M
    Here is a video of ICOM Wifi


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    127
    My Cars
    Alpina B12 5.7 B3 3.0 R
    Thanks for sharing it. Just ordered the stuff. One more question how did you fit the wiring of the antennas, only somewhere in the box?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M
    On the main board you will find 3 "free places" where to stick the antennas. The card I'm using has only 2 antennas connectors.
    I've rolled the wire between the main board and the daughter board.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    127
    My Cars
    Alpina B12 5.7 B3 3.0 R
    Thank You. In the past I was a little bit wondering that the firmware for both ICOMīs is the same, now I know why. (After I saw the mainboard...)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M
    Both Icom A1 and A2 share the same hardware only the case is different !

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    127
    My Cars
    Alpina B12 5.7 B3 3.0 R
    Indeed... The link you shared for the AR9160 is only shipping in some countries. The Wifi function is a good way, my notebook has a terrible RJ45 connector. I dont know what kind of engineering it is now in these days. If you dont take care of the plug all the time you will loose the connectivity. After the warranty I will change this circumstance.


    I saw in your video you used a D-Link router, I think any other router is working too. Any special things to know?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M
    Indeed any router is ok.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    127
    My Cars
    Alpina B12 5.7 B3 3.0 R
    Thank you,
    now I have to wait for the parts.

    Here is a picture of the old counterpart a wireless "GT1 Head"

    BMW_EDIC_Funk.jpg

    There is a lot of BGA stuff inside.
    Long time ago...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    127
    My Cars
    Alpina B12 5.7 B3 3.0 R
    One more comment. I updated the Firmware two days ago. Afer the reboot the DHCP address changed from 169.254.92.38 to 169.254.58.8 I think it is a good choice to use Itool Radar after the update to find the new IP address. My Notebook was configured for automatic address range. I checked the communication to the head with the cmd console first with ipconfig to see my adress (notebook) range and send a ping to the old headīs IP. No answer, then I used Itool anf find the changed IP-

    Everything is woking now, I changes the IP back to the old address.

    Did you have the same address change?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    127
    My Cars
    Alpina B12 5.7 B3 3.0 R
    Regarding to the Wifi mod I can confirm that this WLAN Adapter is working very well too.

    The adapter who was mentioned here will not be shipped to Germany and many other countries. For a very well soldering of the connector I modified the connector on the left side (there is a 6.8R SMD resistor, it is to high) and I reworked the inductive array from WE on the right side.
    I bought this antennas with a additional shields in UK.

    Regarding to my post about the heatsink problem I elaborate two Aluminium heatsinks to keep the temperatures in a better way, even if we have summer conditions on a hot engine. Both heatsinks are applied with special compound glue from RS Components. I used them a lot of years for DSP and FPGA chips.

    The next days I will provide some pictures.

    May on more thing I was a litlle bit fooled by Win8 when I tried to set the WLAN Settings, the window opens, but you cant change SSID and you dont see the passcode characters. Later I used a good old Windows XP under a VMWare and everything worked.

    Thanks again for this cool information it will be very helful in the furture.
    Last edited by EWBR; 05-06-2014 at 03:10 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Schweiz
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    BMW E60
    Hallo frends
    i say so Respect and gradiose

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    My Cars
    2003 BMW M3 Coupe
    Hello,

    I bought a A2 clone with wifi slot and this card

    http://www.ebay.de/itm/191149341688?...84.m1497.l2649

    I put inside and boot up Icom. Wlan led flashing at Boot up. Then i set up wlan and the icom connect to router.
    Then i update the 3.10.45 firmware and now there is no wlan. Since 3 days i try to get it work. But no luck. Wlan LED stopped flashing.

    When i go to icom configuration manager i can't change the wifi settings.

    Can somebody help me?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by bmwm3power1; 06-22-2014 at 02:50 PM.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    My Cars
    2003 BMW M3 Coupe
    Problem solved. Wrong address.

    169.254.92.38:58000/?CodeCountry=DE (wrong)

    169.254.92.38:58000/?CountryCode=DE (correct)

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Socal
    Posts
    16
    My Cars
    2004 M3 vert
    A big thanks for sharing this info. The info on firmware update and url for management was just what I needed for my genuine A2. My clone A2 already had the socket so your links to the wireless card and antennas where a big help. Doing up to 30 scans a week and ditching the cable really helps. Thanks again!


    ***///M3 04 SMG, Xenon, NAV,Cold Weather Pkg,HK Sound, CD Changer***

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    uae
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    1998
    hi dear
    regarding for the router can you explain what is the setup for the router please ?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1
    My Cars
    BMw
    Hey ive sent you a PM message. Plese reply.
    Having trouble with wifi after instalation of wifi card. Mac is 000.000 of WLAN it only shows LAN. When i go to self test it shows Wlan device fail.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    139
    My Cars
    530DA E39 Touring Pack M
    Your soldering are bad then you have false contact. Redo your soldering

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3
    My Cars
    1998 BMW e39
    I also added MiniPCI connector to my ICOM but unfortunately one copper did not survive so no MiniPCI to my device ever :/
    BUT, after looking firmware package I noticed it has also rt5572 kernel modules included. So.. ordered wifi dongle with rt5572 and BINGO. It works like just by inserting usb dongle to icom :P (insert dongle before connecting icom to vechile) Downside is that if you need icom b fiber module you need to connect device using cable.
    Last edited by junnuvi; 04-29-2015 at 07:51 AM.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mission Hills , CA
    Posts
    2,451
    My Cars
    X535D 323iS Z4 i3
    Quote Originally Posted by junnuvi View Post
    It works like just by inserting usb dongle to icom :P (insert dongle before connecting icom to vechile) Downside is that if you need icom b fiber module you need to connect device using cable.
    But you need ICOM B for programming only and for programming you can use LAN only, so all is well in the world BTW, how did you fin if the dongle has rt5572?
    Thanks guys for sharing all the info, i am upgrading my ICOM A and ICOM A2 now.
    Last edited by bawareca; 05-11-2015 at 08:13 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •